Sunday October 21, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Archive for September, 2004

OLN to Air AMA Supermoto Events at Music City

Thursday, September 30th, 2004

It will then be re-aired at 2:30 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 9. On Wednesday, Oct. 20, the America Motorsports-sponsored event will be aired at 7 p.m. and 10 p.m. The final showing slated for the month of October is scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 23, at 2:30 p.m.

AMA Supermoto is the newest sensation in motorcycle racing. Top racers from across the nation converged on the historic five-eighths mile asphalt oval on Saturday, Sept. 11, to compete.

AMA Supermoto combines the high-flying aerobatics of supercross, the knee scrapping lean angles of Superbike road racing and the impossible broad sliding of flat track and condenses them into one of the most exciting shows on two wheels.

Fairgrounds’ Music City Motorplex fans had the opportunity to watch former AMA Motocross and Supercross champs like Jeff Ward, Doug Henry and Grand Langston. In addition, three-time AMA Superbike champion Doug Chandler, along with X-Games superstar Travis Pastrana and many more of the elite stars of motorcycling competed.

For additional information call the Music City Motorplex at (615) 726-1818, or visit

Lakeport Speedway Hosts 15th October Classic

Thursday, September 30th, 2004

The 15th annual event will feature IMCA type modifieds with $2000 to win and $100 to start the 60 lap feature event. Pro Stocks and Late Models will be combined with the winner of their 50 lap main event taking home $1000. Mini stocks and two_passenger bombers will each be running for $500 to win. Rule and entry forms are available on the speedway website at www.lakeportspeedway/com.

The Pro-4 (four cylinder) Modifieds will also be running for $500 to win. Rules are available from divisional promoter Robbie Robinson at 707-275-9345.

The event begins on Friday afternoon with practice from 3:00pm until 7:00 pm with first round qualifying at 7:00 pm. Saturday night’s show will include second round qualifying with trophy dashes and 15-20 lap qualifying races beginning at 6:30 pm. Gates open at 4:00pm.

Sunday will see feature events only in all five divisions. Gates open at 11:00 am with afternoon racing at 1:00 pm. For more information on this special event, call the speedway office at 707-274-2844.

FASCAR Hoping to Return to Racing

Tuesday, September 28th, 2004

At New Smyrna Speedway on Saturday night, American Auto Tire and Service Night will host FASTRUCKS and FASTKIDS along with the Late Models, Open Wheel Modifieds, Sportsman, Super Stock, Mini Stock and Strictly Stock. Pit gates will open at 2 p.m. with qualifying for the FASTRUCKS and FASTKIDS at 6:30 p.m. Racing action will start at 7:30 p.m.

Columbia Motorsports Park in Lake City will present a 125 lap Sunbelt/Florida Pro Super Late Model race with Open Wheel Modifieds, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks and Hornets. Pit gates will open at 2 p.m. with qualifying for the 125 lap race at 6:30 p.m. Racing starts at 7:30 p.m.

On Saturday night at Orlando SpeedWorld, the RE/MAX Legends, Bandoleros, Hurricanes and FAST will race. Pit gate opens at 3 p.m.. with racing action at 7 p.m.

Team FASCAR realizes that all the people of Florida have been thru a terrible time and hope each and everyone will find the way back to a normal life. We realize that there will be racers who are missing due to the hurricanes and all the repairs to their homes. For those racers we will miss you but understand that family comes first. We value all our racers and fans and wish them all a speedy recovery to an unbelievable tragedy.

NARA Battle of the Bluegrass Takes on the ‘Taz’

Tuesday, September 28th, 2004

Citizen Bank of Tazewell will present the O’Reilly NARA Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series for the first time ever at the 1/3 mile high banked clay oval with a top prize of $5000 to win for the Lucas Oil A-Main. There will be a complete show for the O’Reilly NARA Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series with Racing Optics Time Trials, Crown Spray Power Heat Races and O’Reilly Auto Parts B-Mains preceding the 75 lap Lucas Oil A-Main.

This race was originally scheduled for July 31, but was rained out. The 22nd and final point’s race of the year for the O’Reilly Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series will conclude a successful season for the series which thus far boasts of 15 different Lucas Oil A-Main event winners in the 21 events contested this year.

Aaron Hatton of Mt. Sterling, KY heads into the season finale for the series at Tazewell looking to become the third different champion of the O’Reilly NARA Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series in its first three years. If Hatton seals the deal he will join previous O’Reilly NARA Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series Champions, Eddie Carrier, Jr. and Mike Marlar as champions of the series that will conduct its 67th race ever on Saturday Night.

Pit gates at Tazewell will open at 3 pm on Saturday with grandstand gates opening at 5 pm. Tazewell Speedway is located just 15 minutes from the Kentucky/Tennessee border, 1.8 miles off of U.S. Highway 25E. For more information on directions and other Tazewell Speedway information please log on to their website at or call (423) 626-2222.

Battle of the Bluegrass Modified Series Wraps Up With Battle at the Bottom VI

Tuesday, September 28th, 2004

The Mack and Lesa Gabbard promoted facility will host a complete show for the NARA Battle of the Bluegrass Open Wheel Modified Series with Racing Optics Time Trials, Crown Spray Power Heat Races, O’Reilly Auto Parts B-Mains and the 40 Lap Lucas Oil A-Main paying $2500 to win and $200 to start.

The first season of the NARA Battle of the Bluegrass Modifieds will crown a champion at Soggy Bottom with Leonard Pierce of Columbia, KY leading the series points heading into the season finale at Soggy Bottom this weekend. Pierce holds a 75 point advantage over two drivers who are currently tied for second place in points. Kelly Warren of Columbia, KY and Jimmy Payne of Glasgow, KY are the two drivers tied for second in points with one race remaining. Brandon Green of Walton, KY and Ricky Arms of Moss, TN are the other drivers in the top five of the points heading to Soggy Bottom.

Russell Childress, Anthony Reams, Chris Riehle, Hank Bradley and Jerry Rutherford will try to lock down a spot in the top ten after this weekend as they currently stand sixth through tenth heading into this weekend.

Soggy Bottom Speedway is located on State Road 70, two and a half miles west of the Natcher Parkway at exit 27. For more information visit or call (270) 526-9356 or (270) 999-1578.

Gates will open at 2 p.m. (Central Time) with racing at 7 p.m. For more information on NARA please call the office at (859) 271-4501 or visit the series website at and click on the Battle of the Bluegrass Modified icon.