Wednesday November 21, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Mayo, Rasdon, Miller All Winners at 7th Annual Winterfest

Billy Mayo Accepts the $3,000 paycheckBilly Mayo from Cleveland, TN adds his name to the ever growing list of Winterfest winners by earning himself a pole position start and hanging on to win the 7th Annual Winterfest O’Reilly Auto Parts Super Late Model feature event. 42 Super Late Model drivers made their way into the famed Winchester Speedway to compete for the $3,000 pay day. Names such as Terry English, Kyle Beard, Ronnie Lee Johnson, Tony Morris, Tony Knowles, Kayne Hickman, Brandon King and Anthony Burroughs, along with locals Mark Haddon, David Jackson, Jerry Ashley, 2008 track champion David Brannon, Daniel Miller, Corey Posey and David Gentry were on hand.

The competition started with the drivers being divided into four groups for qualifying with the top two from each group transferring directly to the feature. Billy Mayo was the fastest overall qualifier with a time of 15:28. Billy came out of group four, so that group became group one for the rest of the day. Brandon King also transferred from group four. Mark Haddon and Robert Gant were the two fast qualifiers out of the next fastest group three. The next fastest qualifiers would come from group two: Ronnie Lee Johnson with a 15:36 and Tyrone, GA’s Tony Knowles with a 15:46. Tony had already bagged a $1,000 bonus from the previous night’s King of the Hill competition. The final two qualifiers to lock in would come from group one, Corey Posey and James Kline.

The top three from each group heat would lock in to the feature. Jay Brinkley wins group one heat and brings along Ruben Mayfield and John Kellum. Randy Gifford from Flintville, TN wins group two heat. Bruce Williams and Mark Rosner transfer. Tony Morris wins group three heat. David Gentry and Ethan Hunter transfer. Jerry Ashley wins group heat four. Shawn Mitchell and Daniel Miller transfer.

Two consolation races remain to determine the final four starting positions for the feature with 22 drivers left. The top two from each consolation will transfer. David Brannon wins consi one and local David Jackson finishes second to transfer. Carnell Parker from Clarksville, TN wins consi two with Arnold Fields finishing second to transfer.

24 drivers start the feature event. Billy Mayo was the class of the day as he led from start to finish, although he was challenged several times by Mark Haddon, Corey Posey, and Ronnie Johnson. The top three ran nose to tail and at times side by side as all three cars were very close in speed. However, Billy Mayo had already proven to be strong this weekend as he finished as the runner up the night before in the King of the Hill competition and then went on to set fast time in qualifying. Mark Haddon, Corey Posey, Ronnie Johnson, and Robert Gant rounded out the top five.

Young Open Wheel sensation Hunter Rasdon from Jonesboro, Arkansas had a $2,000 winning weekend. His winning ways started Friday night by beating out 13 other Open Wheel drivers in the King of the Hill competition to collect the $500 bonus. Hunter’s winning ways spilled over to Saturday by setting overall quick time and winning the feature event taking home another $1,500. 25 Open Wheel Mods started the feature event. Eric Hickerson, Jason Hiett, Mark Haddon and Chad Winkles rounded out the top five.

The Late Model class consisting of 2 Barrel Late Models, Crate Late Models, and Late Model Stocks started the day with 24 drivers signing in to compete for the $1,000 to win pay day. Billy Mayo again earned the pole position by setting fast time in qualifying. It looked as thought Billy might go two for two at the start. Howver, Daniel Miller driving the Donnie Pogue machine would have something to say about that. Daniel would prove to be too strong to be denied and wins the Cumberland Drywall Materials, Inc. Late Model feature event. Mark Haddon, Billy Mayo, Stacy Tyler, and Randy Gifford round out the top five.

Allen Carter won the Trophy Shop Super Stock feature. Gary Whaley won the P & D Research & Process Servers Pure Stock heat race. Scott Blackwell won the Pure Stock feature. Robert McCormick won the Hanger Hardwood Outlaw Pony feature event. Jonathan Smartt and Cody Martin were your Mini Stock heat race winners and Jonathan Smartt won the Neal’s Body Shop Mini Stock feature.

The next event at Winchester Speedway is the Open Practice/Test and Tune session scheduled for Saturday, March 21, 2009. Gates open at 1pm. Practice will run from 3pm until 8pm. For more information, visit

Comments are closed.