Wednesday November 14, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Thunderhill Raceway running at full throttle for start of 2009 racing season

Thunder Stocks at Thunderhill Raceway KYLE, TX  – Thunderhill Raceway (THR) in Kyle, TX, started out its 2009 racing season at full throttle – starting with the Allstate Texas Racefest on March 14, which was coincidentally hosted by Full Throttle Productions. The THR season opener for the local classes was held on March 21, followed by a full schedule of events this past weekend.  The action this past Saturday night (March 28) was jam-packed – bringing fans plenty of “thrills and spills” to watch as eight classes of all types of stock cars (and karts) took to the 3/8-mile, D-shaped asphalt oval track.


After all of the classes completed their qualifying runs and heat races, the drivers were ready to give the fans their money’s worth in their respective feature races. Starting off the night was the Thunder Stock feature race. Michael Teague (Bastrop, TX) started on the pole and quickly lost the lead to Aaron Brungot (Cedar Park, TX), who held on to the top position for the first six laps. Jason Stanley (San Antonio, TX) grabbed the lead on Lap 7 and stayed at the front until near the end of the race. Meanwhile, the 2008 Thunder Stock Champion and last week’s feature winner, Joey Tschoerner (Bartlett, TX), worked his way up through the pack after starting in the 9th position. Tschoerner passed Stanley with only two laps to go and claimed his second Thunder Stock victory of the season.


The Dwarf Car Series of Texas was next on the track. Jerry Young (Helotes, TX) claimed the win in the 20-lap feature event, followed by Arden Vikre (San Marcos, TX) and Chuck McCormick (Helotes, TX). The ASA A-Line Super Stocks came out next for their 40-lap feature event. The 15-car starting field was led by Duane Toyne (Leander, TX). After just one lap in the lead, Toyne blew an engine and was out for the night. Chase Stapp (San Marcos, TX), who is the rookie pilot of the #99 Super Stock, then assumed the lead. Stapp is the brother of last year’s Super Stock Champion and ASA National Champion Cary Stapp. Chase Stapp held off the rest of the field before being passed by Clint LaFont (Volente, TX) on Lap 33. LaFont had steadily charged up from his eighth starting position and had been picking off his competitors one-by-one before battling for the lead. LaFont held on for the win, and Stapp turned in an impressive second-place finish in his second career start.


The Texas Super Racing Series (TSRS) Allison Legacys made their second appearance at THR this year, and Kris Kerr (San Antonio, TX) started on the pole following a draw for position among the top six qualifiers. Kerr never looked back – holding off Gavin Boyett (Buda, TX) and last week’s feature winner Charles Evans, Jr. (Friendswood, TX) for the win. Next on the track for their 75-lap feature race were the ever-popular TSRS Late Models. A well-known former champion, Colt James from North Carolina, started on the pole. However, Robert Barker (Boerne, TX), who was the TSRS Racefest winner and fast qualifier, took over the lead on the first lap and held on for 64 laps. After slowing down due to a low tire, Barker was forced to give up his position to Cody Smith (La Vernia, TX) for the last ten laps of the race. Smith claimed his first victory of the 2009 season and was followed by James, Bobby Teer, Jr. (Comfort, TX) and Barker when he took the checkered flag. Mason Yousling (Pflugerville, TX) then put on an exhibition race in #46 Mini Stock.


The Mini Stocks are a new class at THR this year, and much growth is anticipated for this affordable way to race. After setting the track qualifying record earlier in the evening and starting on the pole, Lyndon Kirk led the 11-kart field of NasKarts onto the track. Kirk held on the lead until the end – finishing ahead of Chris Terry and Michael Steinman. The night ended with the 25-lap Grand Stock feature event. Brandon Gaither (Floresville, TX) started out on the pole and quickly lost the lead to Layton Carroll (Yoakum, TX). Throughout the race, Michael Weaver (Elmendorf, TX), who was the ninth-place starter, worked his way up to the field – claiming the second position on Lap 10. Carroll managed to hold off for the win, followed by Weaver and Kenny Wright (McQueeney, TX).


Thunderhill Raceway will now settle into its schedule for the remainder of the year, with races being held on the 2nd and 4th Saturdays of each month. The next race at THR will be held on Saturday, April 11, and will feature the Texas Pro Sedans, Pro Trucks, Lone Star Legends and Bandoleros – along with the ASA A-Line Super Stocks, Thunder Stocks, Grand Stocks, Mini Stocks and NasKarts. An Easter Egg Hunt will also be held in the infield – hosted by the Thunderhill Raceway Kids’ Club. Grandstand gates will open on April 11 at 5 p.m. The racing action will begin with qualifying at 5:30 p.m., heat races at 6 p.m. and feature races at 7 p.m. Thunderhill Raceway is located at 24801 IH-35, just north of San Marcos (TX) near Yarrington Road (Exit #210). For more information on Thunderhill Raceway, please visit the THR website at

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.