Wednesday May 23, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Krause, Wilson and Wilson Win Big Diamond Sunday Enduro Races

Forestville, PA –Brad Krause of Auburn won his first 100-lap 6/8 Cylinder Enduro of the season, while Steve Wilson of Green
Lane emerged victorious in the 100-lap 4 Cylinder Enduro this past Sunday at Big Diamond Raceway. As part of the Dan Drobnick Welding sponsored series, Eva Wilson of Pottsville was the 50-lap Ladies Race winner.

Mike Allar started fourth in the 6/8 cylinder contest and immediately drove into the early race lead. On the 33rd circuit,
Allar’s car developed mechanical issues and Mike Reichert (started 15th) took the top spot. Krause, who originally started seventh, followed Reichert into the runner-up position on lap 38.

The talented pair of endurance racers exchanged the lead on six different occasions (laps 64, 72, 74, 82, 84, 88). Finally, Reichert’s challenge ended on the 89th tour, when his machine developed a right rear flat tire. Krause would lead the closing moments unchallenged and finished on a lap of his own. It was his first triumph of the season and second BDR career win.

Mike Benulis (New Philadelphia) charged from 20th to a final finish of second, which was a career best. Sammy Detweiler (Schuylkill Haven) likewise drove to a career high finish of third, after starting from 19th. Reichert (New Ringgold) returned to the speedway after a tire change and finished fourth. Shon Elk (Sinking Spring) made an earlier pit stop and remained a fast charger throughout the race’s duration. Elk rounded out the front finishing five.

Sophomore racer Curt Breinich led the opening 13 laps of the 4 Cylinder contest until Tom Kemmerer took the lead. Breinich worked back past Kemmerer and held off a strong pack of machinery. S. Wilson started from last (30th) and made his way into the top five by the 30th lap. S. Wilson moved into the top spot with 34 laps showing on the counter.

Tony Wetzel passed Wilson on lap 63, however, Wilson regained the spot a lap later. Wilson, Chris Holland, Wetzel, and Gary Grim staged a great battle which continued for numerous laps. After pressuring the race leader, Holland’s car slowed from the pace with just four laps remaining. Wetzel closed on Wilson and they battled for the victory heading out of the final corner of lap 100.

S. Wilson, who was making his first BDR start of 2010, captured his second career victory closely followed by Wetzel (Fleetwood). Grim (Fleetwood) turned his hard luck filled season around with a third place effort. Scott Peters (Williamstown) actually raced his way back into the lead lap and was closing on the front three during the final stages. Greg Zelinsky (Pine Grove) rounded out the top five.

Four of the five entrants in the Ladies Race each took their shot at the lead. Shirley Clark took over on lap 8 and appeared to
have a victory in hand. On lap 34, however, Clark’s machine dumped a left rear wheel in turn two and her race ended quickly. E. Wilson took command and held a three-lap advantage. With 42 circuits showing on the board, E. Wilson suddenly stopped in turn three bringing out the caution. She was able to re-fire her car for the restart and held on to capture a first career victory. Pam Holland (Pine Grove) finished second ahead of season opener winner Shannon Karpulk (Pottsville), Karen Chase (Bernville) and Clark (Pine Grove).

Comments are closed.