Thursday October 18, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Fans Get Sneak Peek of Wheelchair-Adapted Race Car

During the intermission, the Project Track Champion racecar, the world’s first wheelchair adapted racecar, was hauled out onto the speedway to showcase the progress on this very popular project. This unique racecar will be debuted on Friday, July 1st as part of our huge Canada Day long weekend racing schedule. Unfortunately due to the rain delay at the start of the night, the racecar rides for our Kids Club members was rescheduled until next week. Our lucky bike winner on this night was seven year old Zachary Carlton from Orangeville.

Varney Motor Speedway’s own Mini Truck Rebels division took to the high banks for the first time this season. Both the 9hp and 13hp trucks raced at the same time, making for some interesting results. In the 9hp division, #7 Trevor Thompson from Elmira held off #19 Corey Fletcher of Hanover for the win. In third place was #22 Josh Stade of Chesley. For the 13hp division, it came down to a battle between #42 Nick Brouwer of Mount Forest, #77 Stephen Clark of Kenilworth and #31 Matt Brouwer of Mount Forest. As the checkered flag fell, Nick Brouwer led Clark and Matt Brouwer across the finish line bumper to bumper to bumper.

The Stock Four division feature race victories have been dominated by #27 Jason Ahlborn of Mono Mills so far this season, but these races were by no means easy wins for the veteran driver. On this night, Ahlborn tailed #19 Dennis Cremasco of Arthur for the whole race, making a nice move with only a few laps remaining to take the lead. With Ahlborn in victory lane once again, Cremasco was right there for second place while #63 Dave Burrows of Acton had to settle for third. The heat races were won by Ahlborn and Burrows.

The Street Stock division continues to grow and there is a large pack of very fast racecars in this field. For the feature race, the early battle for the lead was between six different drivers! As the laps wore down, #3 Jaz Zmija of Mount Forest took control and made his way into the lead with #7 Wayne Thomson of Hanover, #277 Ray Flynn of Clinton, #61 Chad Eden of Durham and #58 Bill Cole of Walkerton all right behind him. Zmija had no problems holding off the rest of the pack and crossed the finish line as the winner. The race for second was won by Thomson, with Flynn tucked in behind him for third place. The heat races were won by Zmija, Thomson, Flynn and Cole.

The Super Street Stock division has provided some great racing action so far this season and tonight was no different. In the feature race, #24 Pam Chagnon of Clinton bolted from her starting position on the outside of the front row and had the lead by the time the first lap was completed. The other pole sitter, #2 Ed Peterson, also from Clinton, dogged Chagnon for the rest of the race, but just couldn’t muster up the speed needed to make the pass for the lead. In the end, Chagnon scored her first feature win of the season, with Peterson in second and #16 Jamie Jarvis of Durham in third place. The heat races were won by Chagnon and Peterson.

For one reason or another, tonight was not a good night for most of the drivers in the All Pro Modified division. In the first heat race, #64 Chris Burrows of Acton blew up his motor racing into the third turn, effectively ending his night. In the second heat race, an incident on the front stretch collected #65 Bill Burrows of Acton and #12 Justin McLellan of Mount Forest, ending both their nights. Then in the feature race, #66 Jamie Burrows of Acton blew up his motor in almost the same place as his brother Chris. Obviously, the Burrows Racing Enterprises engine builders will have a very busy week ahead of them. Meanwhile, #88 Glen Coulson of Holstein continued his streak of feature race victories as he cruised into victory lane. The race for second was won by #5 Dave Hassel of Georgetown, with #4 Aaron McLean of Conn right behind for third place. The heat races were won by McLellan and #2 Dale McArthur of Durham.

Next week’s racing action on the high banks of Varney Motor Speedway includes regular racing for the Limited Late Model, Super Street Stock and Stock Four divisions, plus a visit from the Hurricane Midgets and another huge two hundred lap Enduro race. For more information, a complete schedule, driver profiles and much, much more, please visit our website,

Comments are closed.