Tuesday May 22, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Deer Creek Speedway Lifts Lid on 2012 Racing Season

Spring Valley, MN– Mother Nature tried its best to dampen the racing activities at Deer Creek Speedway as it prepared for the season opener of the 2012 season. A light mist throughout the early afternoon made the track a mess but Ryan Queensland along with the help of some great people got the track back in great racing shape for the night. Many of the fans commented on the extra effort to get the track ready and how smooth the surface was after watching the muck peeled off the surface. Randy and Patty Eastvold from Hanson Tire in LeRoy added a $100 bonus to each of the feature winners on this opening night. 140 cars pulled into the pit area on this cool April day.

First feature on the track for the night was the USRA B-Modifieds. Dan Wheeler jumped into the early lead with Scott Demmer in second. Demmer quickly took over the lead in lap two while Jacob Bleess moved into third on lap four. Bleess took over second on lap six while Erick Kanz worked into the top five. With six down the yellow waved and on the restart Demmer again led with Bleess in second and Kanz now in third. Wheeler and Brian Mahlstadt raced for fourth. Kanz pulled alongside of Bleess on lap ten and then took over the second spot on the next lap. Demmer took home the win ahead of Kanz, Bleess, Mahlstadt and Wheeler.

Justin Pogones led into turn one of the opening lap for the WISSOTA Street Stock feature event. Pogones pushed up in two allowing Danny Richards and Fred Prudoehl to take over second and third. With three down Cody Kummer moved into second with Dave Read following through into third on lap four. A caution with five down slowed the field. On the restart the action up front got wild. Richards, Kummer and Read were three wide for the lead. For the next two laps they bumped and banged for the lead making contact and still waging their war. Another caution on lap seven saw Read and Richards’s battle for the lead but as they rubbed in two they pushed up allowing Kummer to take over the top spot. Mike Blowers moved into third and Richards fell back. UP front on lap ten Kummer and Read were still at it with Blowers all over their bumper. Blowers took over the second spot on lap eleven. With thirteen down Kory Adams was charging forward and was inside the top five. Richards and Kummer were racing for third when they made contact allowing Adams to take over the third spot. As the checkers flew it was Read, Blowers, Adams, Richards and Prudoehl in the top five.

Cory Crapser jumped out front in the WISSOTA Midwest Modified Feature with Shane Sabraski in second. Sabraski and Crapser put on a great battle early on with each leading laps throughout the first five laps until a caution broke up their spirited race. On the restart Jason Born moved into the third spot while Allen Gessell JR. moved into the fourth spot. Up front Crapser slowly pulled away from Sabraski to take home the win with Born, Jared Boumeester and Gessell Jr. rounding out the top five.

Ryan Siegle led early in the WISSOTA Super Stock Feature event with a three wide battle for second. Tim Johnson sat in second with Shane Sabraski and Kelly Anderson battling for third. With three down Sabraski and Johnson were all over Siegle for the lead but Siegle held off the challenges until the next lap when Siegle pushed up in the corner allowing Sabraski to take the lead. A caution with five down saw Sabraski leading, Bud Richards and Siegle side by side for third behind Johnson. Richards would take over third on lap eight while Siegle now found himself trying to hold off Kelly Anderson and Jeff Brauer. It didn’t happen as Brauer and Anderson took over the fourth and fifth spots. Another caution with thirteen complete saw Sabraski lead, Johnson was in second and Richards in third. Anderson and Brauer raced for the fourth spot. With fifteen down Brauer took over fourth. At the finish it was Sabraski with the win, Johnson second. Richards, Brauer and Anderson rounded out the top five.

After a complete restart Jake Redetzke jumped out to the early lead in the WISSOTA Late Model feature. Nick Beyenhof sat in second. Lance Matthees and Kelly Anderson were side by side for third. Todd Frank sat in fifth early on. With five down Matthees took over the third spot. A caution flew on lap nine. On the restart Redetzke held onto the lead while Jerry Bloom moved inside the top five after starting seventeenth. Nick Herrick worked into the top five as Anderson slid back. ON lap twelve Herrick moved under Matthees for the third spot and set sail for Beyenhof in front in second. With eighteen down Bloom and Mike Prochnow were racing for fifth. Prochnow took the spot and on the last lap lost his motor and coasted to the finish line in fifth. As the checkers flew it was Redetzke with the win, Beyenhof, Herrick, Matthees and Prochnow in the top five.

With 38 USRA Modifieds on hand tonight just making the field was a feat. Jake Timm jumped out into the early lead with Doug Hillson in second. ON lap two Steve Wetzstein moved under Hillson to take over second. Further back Bob Timm and Jason Cummins had the top side working as they tried to work forward. Cummins moved into the top five while Wetzstein worked past the younger Timm to take over the lead. About that same time Nate Wasmund started charging and worked into the top five. ON the next lap Wasmund was in second. On lap eight Wasmund moved past Wetzstein to take over the top spot. A caution on lap twelve slowed up the field. ON the restart Wetzstein and Wasmund were side by side for the lead. Cummins was up against the wall in third as Wetzstein took over the lead. Wasmund followed Wetzstein to the stripe ahead of Cummins, Kelly Shryock and Hillson.

Racing action resumes next Saturday with a 5:00 start time. Driver cutoff is 4:30

Comments are closed.