Tuesday July 17, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Erickson to Lead ABC Raceway in 2015; Awards Banquet Scheduled

Ashland, WI — The ABC Raceway held its annual meeting in early December at WITC, and during that meeting several items of business were settled, including the election of the officers and other Board members that will lead the venerable stock car racing operation into the 2015 season.

Eric Erickson, a long-time active Ashland-Bayfield County Racing Association member who has served in several capacities within the organization, was elected as president of the Board of Directors, replacing Kurt Beeksma, who stepped down after 11 years at the post. This will be Erickson’s third turn as president.

A group of over two dozen members of the Ashland-Bayfield County Racing Association were on hand to discuss items on the annual agenda and hear presentations pertinent to the operation of the Raceway. After an extensive and well-detailed presentation of the track’s financial status, Beeksma gave a review of the season, emphasizing the highlights of the historic 2014 season, such as the track’s 50th anniversary celebration, the establishment of its Hall of Fame, and the record-breaking 39th Red Clay Classic event in late September.

Also discussed were a number of projects important to the Raceway’s success that are either currently ongoing, planned for the upcoming season, or recommended by the Board of Directors for consideration by the Assocation’s membership.

One change that will be implemented during the 2015 racing season will be the rescheduling of the track’s Monday meetings during the warmer months. The Raceway’s By-Laws Committee recommended changing the meetings from a weekly to a bi-weekly schedule, with the option of slating additional meetings if and when needed. This recommendation was accepted in a vote of those present by a simple majority.

Prior to the election of officers and other open Board positions, Beeksma expressed his appreciation to the many Association members, track volunteer workers and others who he worked with while serving as president. Erickson was nominated for president and accepted the post unopposed. Others who retained their positions as Board officers were vice-president Weaver Wherritt, secretary Katie Stuart, treasurer Cheryl Klobucher and assistant treasurer Mary Bowers.

Long-time Raceway Board member Mike Sorenson chose not to run again for his seat on the Board, which was one of four available due to expiring terms. Bowers, Mike Eder and Ray Stuart were re-elected to their seats, while Ed Hedican collected enough votes to fill Sorenson’s position. Those in attendance expressed their appreciation for the many years of service Sorenson contributed during his tenure.

The ABC Raceway will celebrate its 50th anniversary season with its annual awards banquet on January 24 at the AmericInn, 3009 E Lakeshore Drive, Ashland. A social hour will begin at 5 pm, followed by a buffet dinner at 6 and the awards ceremony at 7 pm. A door-prize drawing and music and dancing will follow the awards presentations.

Dinner tickets must be purchased before January 12; only tickets for the awards ceremony and dance will be available at the door. The AmericInn is also offering a room special for those wishing to attend the banquet and stay the the inn.

For more information on the banquet, please contact Cheryl at (715) 746-2390 or (715) 209-1373, or Mary at (715) 682-2672 or (715) 292-2672. For more information on the room special and availability, contact the AmericInn at (715) 682-9950 and mention the ABC Raceway banquet special.

The ABC Raceway is located 3-1/2 miles south of Ashland on State Highway 13 and one mile west on Butterworth Road. For more information log on to the track’s website, www.abcraceway.com.

Comments are closed.