Thursday July 19, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

ABC Raceway Accepting Nominations for 2015 HoF Class

Ashland, WI — The ABC Raceway is currently accepting nominations for inductees into its Hall of Fame for the Class of 2015.

The Raceway, which will operate for its 51st consecutive season under the direction of the Ashland-Bayfield County Racing Assocation during the upcoming summer, formally inducted its first-ever group into the newly-formed Hall of Fame on July 19, 2014. The inaugural group included three honorary inductees, four drivers and five others recognized for their volunteerism and other contributions. Nominees for induction under the category of Drivers should include those who had enjoyed significant success at the three-eighths-mile Northern Wisconsin stock car racing oval while also making a significant impact as an ambassador of the Raceway when competing at other tracks. To be eligible, a nominee needs to have been retired as an active competitor for a minimum of five years.

Drivers included in the Class of 2014 were Bob Brevak, the late Duane “Oulu” Erickson, Ron Hmielewski and Bob Root.

Nominees for induction under the category of Volunteers and Contributors should be persons or organizations that contributed significantly to the success of the ABC Raceway and to area stock car racing in general while exemplifying unselfish involvement and the true spirit of volunteerism, which has been the basis for the success of the Ashland-Bayfield County Racing Association. To be eligible, nominees need to have volunteered their time and efforts at the Raceway for a minimum of ten years, or to have significantly contributed to or influenced the success of the Raceway and the area racing community.

Those included in the inaugural class under the Volunteers and Contributors category were Dennis Asbach, Ron and Jeanne Hmielewski, Bob and the late Sandy Root, Weaver Wherritt, and Earl and Chris Zar. Also included as first-year inductees were the late Frank and Verna Brevak, the Northern State Bank, and the Vernon family and Northern Clearing Inc – all chosen as unanimous honorary selections for their generous and unselfish contributions to the origins of the Association and the Raceway and its growth and success. Nominations will be accepted until early March 2015 and must be accompanied by the nomination form found on the Raceway’s website,, and two letters
of recommendation. Nominations can be mailed to ABC Raceway, PO Box 362, Ashland WI 54806.

The track’s Hall of Fame Selection Committee will meet in April to review the nominations, and the second Class of inductees will be announced during the opening night of the 2015 racing season at the track. A formal induction ceremony will take place later in the season.

The ABC Raceway is located 3-1/2 miles south of Ashland on State Highway 13 and one mile west on Butterworth Road. For more information call (715) 682-4990, or log on to the track’s website,

Comments are closed.