Thursday June 21, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Madden Wins First Lucas Oil Visit to Boyd’s

RINGGOLD, GA–Chris Madden dominated the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at Boyd’s Speedway on Friday Night. Madden led all 50 laps, and takes his first LOLMDS win of the season and the eighth LOLMDS victory of his career. Randy Weaver edged-out Jared Landers at the finish line for second place. Series points Jonathan Davenport came home in fourth, followed by pole-sitter, Scott Bloomquist.

“I just can’t thank Matt, Kevin, and Dave at Longhorn Chassis enough. They build one great racecar. Today didn’t start off very well for us. Our trailer caught on fire on the way here, so this win couldn’t come at a better time,” said the 40-year-old, Madden, in Lucas Oil Victory Lane. “Since the end of last year, we have had some ups and downs, but we have had more ups than downs, and are glad to be in victory lane tonight. Dale [McDowell] and his crew have this place really racy. I knew Randy [Weaver] would be pretty strong, he’s tough at this place, but we just got it done tonight.”

In a race that was slowed by only one caution, Madden was able to lap cars at will with little difficulty. “I want to thank all the fans for coming out tonight. This is what it’s all about, racing in front of a crowd like this. Fans were lined up for blocks trying to get in here.” Madden’s Clements-powered Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Crowder Trucking, Century Plastics, Allstar Performance, Modern Images, Stroble Mini-Storage, Crescent Moon Homes, Cushman Paint and Body, Henderson Amusement, Xtreme Customs and Cycles, and Worley Monument.

Weaver’s Chip Stone Longhorn Chassis nearly gave up second place on the final lap to Landers. “I thought I was going to run second and here came Jared by me down the backstretch. He should have gotten by me. I was so bad down the straight-aways. I had my big motor in due to all the rain. I was fighting traction down the straight-aways.

It was a good night to race. I didn’t think we would get to race. I’d like to also say a big thanks to all of the fans for coming out to support us.”

Landers had a great run in his heat race, and came from fifth to second, rekindling his early season strong performances. “I tried to give him [Weaver] room. I found a good-line in the last five laps. Congrats to Chris on the win. I like racing these slick race tracks. A lot of the regulars struggled; these tracks are hard to drive and a lot of them had never been here before,” said the driver of the Lance Landers Motorsports, Mark Martin Automotive and Crop Production Services sponsored entry. Completing the top ten were Dale McDowell, Casey Roberts, Jimmy Owens, Darrell Lanigan, and Dennis Erb Jr.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 34 entrants, with a lap of 13.830 seconds. Chris Madden set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 13.933 seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Randy Weaver, Chris Madden and Dale McDowell won their respective heat races. Dylan Ames and Tim McCreadie won their respective B-Mains.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the latest series standings, 2016 tour schedule, driver information, and more visit the official website at:

Comments are closed.