Tuesday April 24, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

IMCA Hawkeye Dirt Tour title chase starts at Benton County

VINTON, Iowa– The best Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified drivers from across the Hawkeye State and much of the Midwest converge on Benton County Speedway next Monday, May 30 for the first of a dozen 2016 Hawkeye Dirt Tour events.

The Memorial Day feature at Vinton pays $1,000 to win, a minimum of $150 to start and is a quali­fier for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot. Modified drivers also have the opportunity to tune up for the Memorial Day event with a $1,000 to win feature during the weekly show May 29 at Vinton. HDT drivers who race in the Sunday draw/redraw event don’t have to pay the $50 series entry fee on Memorial Day.

Pit gates and the grandstand both open at 4 p.m. Monday. Hot laps are at 5:45 p.m. and racing starts at 6 p.m. IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, BMS North Central Region, Allstar Perfor­mance State and special series points, but not track points, will be awarded to Modifieds. Also running are IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods for all applicable points, including track.

Grandstand admission is $15 for adults and $5 for kids. Pit passes are $25. More information is available by calling promoter Mick Trier at 515 201-5526 or the IMCA home office at 319 472-2201. The track website is www.jjamracing.net.

Racing also starts at 6 p.m. on Sunday and both holiday weekend programs will be broadcast by IMCA.TV. Benton County Speedway is the traditional home of the IMCA Modified division and has hosted four opening night events and five races in all since the Hawkeye Dirt Tour started in 2010.

Jason Wolla made the long trip from North Dakota to win at Vinton last May. The defending series champion is Kyle Brown of State Center. Next on the Hawkeye Dirt Tour slate are events Tuesday, June 7 at Marshalltown Speedway and Thursday, June 9 at Kossuth County Speedway in Algona.

Comments are closed.