Monday June 25, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

MSCS Goes Back to Back August 13th and 14th

Haubstadt, IN -The Midwest Sprint Car Series will be sanctioning the “Hoosier Sprint Nationals” at Tri-State Speedway once again this season. It will be the 12th annual show. However the event will be on a different weekend this year. The 2016 date is August 13th. The change was made in an effort to find the very best date possible. This race is one that everyone interested in non-wing sprint car racing deserves an opportunity to attend or participate in. The feature will pay $5,000 to the winner.

Then on Sunday the 14th MSCS will be racing at the Terre Haute Action Track. The event is being promoted as a “Sunday Funday” at the track. The race is an opportunity for the series to makeup the annual “Spring Fling” that was rained out in May at the track. The feature will pay $3,000 to win and $300 to start. These two big events scheduled back to back will test the versatility of all the drivers. Saturday they will be racing on a tight quarter mile facility and then opening up at a half mile on Sunday. The two Hoosier tracks are located within 90 miles of each other using U.S. 41.

Ten Hoosier Sprint National events have been held to date and eight different drivers have posted a win. Brady Short became the first and only repeat winner in 2014. He made it two victories in a row in taking his third Hoosier Nationals last year. Rain has intervened only once! This race has continued to be a popular season attraction at Tri-State Speedway producing some of the more memorable highlights season after season.

The “Spring Fling” at Terre Haute has been on the MSCS schedule since 2012. Robert Ballou won that event. Brady Short took the checkered flag at the Fling last year over Jerry Coons Jr. and Carson Short. It was one of Brady’s 10 big wins with MSCS in 2015. Rain prevented this race being held the two seasons between. A convenient date was secured to provide a second opportunity to hold the event this season.

Brady Short and Brandon Morin have been battling for the MSCS points lead since May. Early in the season C.J. Leary and Kyle Cummins also took a turn at the top of the standings. Carson Short remains a steady contender. He has been as high as second in points following two different events. Carson won the Indiana Sprint week race for USAC Sprints at Haubstadt in July. Drivers with multiple MSCS wins this season are Chase Stockon and Thomas Meseraull.

Other drivers who have consistently held positions in the top ten in points this season include Tyler Hewitt, Donny Brackett, Jared Chastain, Dakota Jackson, Nevil Algie, and Mitch Wissmiller. The most recent additions to the top ten include Brandon Mattox and Jon Stanbrough.

The UMP Open Wheel Modifieds will also be competing at both tracks. The MMSA Mini Sprints have also been added as a third class this year in support of the Hoosier Sprint Nationals at Haubstadt.

Saturday the pit gate at Haubstadt will open at 3:30 P.M. in the afternoon Hot laps which include group qualifying begin at 6:30 with heat races beginning at 7:30 C.D.T.. Sunday the pit gate at Terre Haute will open at 3:00 P.M. Hot laps and group qualifying begin at 6 o’clock with racing at 7:00 E.D.T. More detailed information can be found at or at

Provided as News and Information for MSCS.

Comments are closed.