Thursday July 19, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Bloomquist Wins Lawrenceburg’s Whiskey City 60

LAWRENCEBURG, IN) – For the second night in a row Scott Bloomquist led every lap of a Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event, winning Saturday night’s Whiskey City 60 at Lawrenceburg Speedway. His win at Lawrenceburg was his 12th series win of the season as he continues to stand atop the championship standings.
Earl Pearson Jr.; in the Dunn-Benson Ford/Lucas Oil/Longhorn Chassis; finished second, followed by Brandon Sheppard in the Best Performance Motorsports/Rocket Chassis. Completing the top five were Gregg Satterlee, and Dennis Erb Jr.

Bloomquist set a new track record for Late Models at Lawrenceburg in Miller Welders Time Trials, then went on to dominate his heat race, before finally capturing his second career win at the facility. “I lost my power steering near the end. We didn’t dare get up on that cushion. We could lean on it, but without power steering it’s extremely difficult to drive these cars. It takes about everything you have. I am glad that one’s over!” “We made sure that we had some traction coming off of turn four. If you slide across there, it wasn’t too bad. The cautions somewhat helped keep the engine cooled down. We got to about 230 or 240 degrees. The humidity tonight didn’t help with some of the issues the other drivers had.”

Jimmy Owens and Bloomquist started on the front row as Bloomquist took the lead at the start of the race. Jonathan Davenport had moved up from ninth to third in the early going, but a blown tire would end his race. Bloomquist waited through several caution flags as Pearson and Sheppard were hotly contesting the second position. The two went back and forth several times with Pearson emerging from the battle with the runner-up position at the finish.

“We changed engines this afternoon. The car was really good all night long. Me and B-Shepp had a great race for second. We both were up on the wheel. We tried our best to stay with Scott, but he is back on one of those rolls he gets on and it’s hard to beat him,” said Pearson. Sheppard tried the highest line on the race track in turns one and two. But in three and four he would lose what he had gained on Pearson. “We kept trying that line until I think I wore it out. It blackened up going into one and I couldn’t quite steer it like I had in some of the previous laps. It is always great to race against Earl, he gives you plenty of room and he’s a good clean driver.” Completing the top ten were Colton Flinner, Nick Hoffman, Darrell Lanigan, Steve Francis, and Kent Robinson.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time and new Lawrenceburg Speedway Track Record (Group B) amongst the 35 entrants, with a lap of 13.827 seconds. Jared Hawkins set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 14.036 seconds. Jimmy Owens, Earl Pearson Jr., Scott Bloomquist, and Cody Mahoney won their respective heat races. Don O’Neal and Duane Chamberlain won their respective B-Mains.

Comments are closed.