Thursday June 21, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Matt Ryan scores hometown victory in REBEL 5K

DAVENPORT,Ia. – Matt Ryan captured a big win at his hometown track Friday. The veteran late model racer won the REBEL 5K at the Davenport Speedway and took home a check for $5,000. Ryan started ninth in the field of twenty-four car IMCA Late Models, but would not see the lead until lap thirty-two. Matt used the bottom of the racetrack to pass Jesse Sobbing of Malvern, Iowa. The pair would swap the lead back and forth fora couple of
laps before Ryan secured the lead for good on lap 36.

Sobbing would hold on to finish second with early race leader Nick Marolf taking third.Justin Kay and Cayden Carter completed the top five. Thirty Late Models were on hand for the event. Heat race wins went to Rob
Toland, Jesse Sobbing, Chad Holladay, and Justin Kay. Joe Ross and Cayden Carter won the semi-features.

In Modified racing action, Justin Kay dominated the twenty lap main. Kay took the lead from Rob Toland on lap five and never looked back. Cayden Carter raced from a sixth row starting spot to finish second. Toland finished third, ahead of Bryce Garnhart and Stephan Kammerer. Kay,Carter, and Steve Stewart won the Modified heat races.

Joe Bonney survived a competitive Street Stock feature to visit victory lane. Bonney held the lead at three different times during the race, including the most important, at the checkerd flag. Dwayne Smith Jr., Randy Lamar, Jeff Struck Jr., and Brandon Setser also saw laps at the front of the pack. Setser finished second, with Lamar taking third. Rob Henrry and Jimmy Comins finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Tyler Soppe topped a large field of Sport Mods to take home the trophy. Soppe took the lead from Brandt Cole midway through the feature and drove away for the win. Gage Neal made a late race charge to finish second. Brandt Cole took third, while Keith Blum and Austen Beccerr arounded out the top five. Thirty-three drivers from four states made up the Sport Modfield for Friday’s races.

The Midwest Sanction Showdown returns to the Davenport Speedway next Friday, April14th. It is the only half-mile race on the 2017 schedule for Davenport. The event will put the stars of the Mars DirtCar Series against the top guns of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series. Past winners of the Midwest Sanction Showdown include Jason Feger, Chad Simpson, and‘the Iceman’ Jimmy Mars. Also racing will be Modifieds, Street Stocks, and SportMods.

Comments are closed.