Saturday May 26, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Matt Vandervere Gets First Win at Wilmot

29 drivers pulled into Wilmot Raceway on a hot Saturday afternoon to do battle with the Bumper to Bumper Interstate Racing Association (IRA). Seattle Washington native Tayler Malsam set fast time in Osborn and Son Trucking qualifying. Bill Balog would be 2nd quick, followed by Scotty Thiel and 3 time Wilmot track champion Jeremy Schultz. Kyle Marten rounded out the top 5.

Heat race 1 would be led early by the Grandstand Video 10v of Matt Vandervere, but on the final lap Schultz was able to find a line around Vandervere and get the heat win. Vandervere would come home in 2nd followed by Malsam. “Wild” Bill Wirth and Ryan Irwin would finish 4th and 5th respectively.
Heat 2 saw Scott Uttech take the early lead, and keep his 7 machine in front of the field for all 10 laps in route to victory over Marten and Balog. Wayne Modjeski would cross the line in 4th followed by the 79 piloted by Blake Nimee in 5th.
Heat race 3 saw its front row, Scotty Neitzel and Joey Moughan battle for the front position for much of the race. When the checkered flag fell it was Neitzel’s orange 2w ahead of Moughan’s red white and blue 11. Steve Meyer brought his 85m home in 3rd, with Thiel in 4th and Rusty Egan in 5th.

The B main was led to the green flag by a pair of 23s, Russel Borland’s 23 and Trey Datweiler’s 23d. Borland would get the lead and hold on to it until the conclusion, for the B main win. Jordan Goldesberry would finish 2nd followed by Datweiler. A pair of Spitz’s would round out the top 5, with Kris in 4th and Dennis in 5th.

The A main saw local favorite Matt Vandervere start from the pole. “Matty V” took the early lead in his Grandstand Video 10v and pulled away from the field. Neitzel ran in 2nd with Malsam in 3rd. Balog quickly worked his way into 3rd and set his sights on Neitzel. As the yellow flag flew on lap 15 for a spinning Russel Borland, the running order was Vandervere, Balog and Neitzel. The Grandstand Video 10v got a great restart and pulled away from the North Pole Nightmare. All would be for naught though as the yellow flag once again flew for Joey Moughan who had came to rest on the front stretch after losing his left rear wheel. Through a series of restarts Vandervere was able to continually drive away from the field. The final green flag run was 12 laps, just long enough for the leaders to catch lapped traffic and give Balog a shot at the 10v, but Vandervere kept his cool and hit his marks and when the dust settled it was the red 10v sitting in victory lane. Balog finished 2nd and Thiel 3rd. Defending IRA champion, Schultz brought his 5j machine across in 4th and Scotty Neitzel rounded out the top 5

Comments are closed.