Friday May 25, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Three in a row for Duffy, Reitzler wins thriller, and Packer gets first win on U.S. soil

The Marshalltown Speedway’s Friday night show was hurried along due to the threatening weather. However, the track won out, and the entire show was completed by 9:25 p.m. with nothing more than a few sprinkles.

The Mod Lites came to the track first for their feature event. Charlie Brown would lead the entire 15-laps on his way to the feature win, his second in as many weeks. Randy Bryan trailed Brown all the race, closed the gap in the waning moments, but had to settle for second. Third went to seventh place starter, Mike Morrill, fourth was Joe Zrostlik, and Joel Huggins was fifth.

Frank Packer, the driver who comes to Iowa during the summer from his home in Australia to do a little IMCA Northern SportMod racing, put his name in the record books by winning the 18-lap feature. Packer started on the pole and held of some fierce challenges late in the race from Johnathon Logue. Logue’s efforts were in vain however, as Packer took the checkers to seal his win…his first on U.S. soil. His win was also the first time an Aussie had won at the Marshalltown Speedway. Travis Peterson had to qualify through a B main due to his heat woes, started nineteenth, and finished third. Jared VanDeest came from eleventh to finish fourth, and Randy Roberts completed the top five.

Gene Nicklas led all but the final few feet of the IMCA Hobby Stock A main, but taking the win was Shannon Anderson, when a lap car got involved as they came to the checkers. Following second place Nicklas, was Gary Pfantz in third, Clear Lake, Iowa driver Chanse Hollatz started tenth, and was fourth, and Eric Knutson rounded out the top five. Anderson has four wins in a row, and a total of six for the year.

The Class too Tough to Tame, the IMCA Stock Cars, once again lived up to their name. The 18-lap feature was a thriller as Todd Reitzler and Damon Murty went at it from lap one, right up until they crossed under the checkers. Reitzler started fourth and took the immediate lead, and Murty tucked in right behind him from starting sixth. It was a tight race from there on, Murty looking for any way around the 22R. They raced side by side in a near dead heat at times, and both drivers pulled slide jobs to try and gain an advantage. Reitzler however, was not to be denied on this night, and successfully held off Murty to take the win, his second of the year at Marshalltown. Finishing third behind Murty was ninth place starter Donavon Smith, Jeff Mueller came from eighth starting spot, to take fourth, and Steve Meyer was fifth. This was Reitzler’s second win at Marshalltown this season.

Darin Duffy went home with his third win in a row in the IMCA Modifieds. He started tenth, and had to catch leader Shawn Ritter who led from lap one. Duffy came through the pack to reach second place, and then reeled in Ritter, and took the lead on lap thirteen. Duffy then stretched that lead to take the win comfortably over Ritter in second. Finishing a close third, was Scott Simatovich, and Tim Ward took fourth over twelfth place starter Jesse Hoeft who was fifth.

Joe Zrostlik, who did double duty on the night, having also raced in the Mod Lite class, won for the first time this season in the IMCA Late Model 20-lap event. Zrostlik battled with Richie Gustin in the early portion of the race, until finally getting past him for the lead at lap eight. Gustin taunted Zrostlik through the rest of the race until his car slipped off of turn two on lap nineteen. This handed the third place runner John Emerson, second spot, and he kept it the final lap home. Pole sitter Curt Schroeder finished third, Darrel DeFrance was fourth, and Justin Mitchell was fifth.

Weekly racing continues at the Marshalltown Speedway next Friday night, with hot laps at 6:50 and racing at 7:30.

Comments are closed.