Tuesday May 22, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Hurst, Montgomery, Sanders, and Soppe score Mid-Season wins at Davenport

DAVENPORT, Ia. – Mid-Season Championships were on tap Friday night at the Davenport Speedway. It was a beautiful night for racing and a great night for a low draw as all classes used a draw/re-draw format.

Jeremiah Hurst won his heat race and drew the number one chip for the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model feature. Hurst then used his front row start to lead all twenty-five laps for his first win at Davenport this year. Matt Ryan, who also started in the front row, closed in on Hurst in traffic, but was unable to make a bid for the lead.

Following Hurst and Ryan to the checkers was Rob Toland, who started in the fifth row. Andy Nezworski finished fourth and Chuck Hanna fifth in a race that went caution-free.

Hurst and Ryan were late model heat winners.

Brad Montgomery made it two straight wins in the Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modified division. Just like last week Brad led all twenty laps for the win. Tony VonDresky moved up a couple of spots to finish second, while Matt Werner held off a charging Milo Veloz Jr. to take third. Veloz and Craig Crawford completed the first five. The twenty lap feature was slowed only once by caution.

Veloz, Mitch Morris, and Doug Crampton all won modified heat races.

Eric Sanders led flag to flag for the win in Koehler Electric Street Stock action. Sanders had to fend off last week’s winner Brandon Setser throughout several restarts to earn the win. The victory was his first at Davenport. Setser held on for second with Jeff Struck Jr. third. Nick Hixson and Cary Brown rounded out the top five.

Tyler Soppe didn’t draw the number one chip for the Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMod feature. He drew number two, but the result was the same. Soppe led all fifteen laps of the main, which was the closest race of the night.

Tony Olson started fifth and hounded Soppe throughout the race. Olson got inside Soppe on lap thirteen. The two cars were door to door, but Olson could not make the move stick. Tony finished second followed by Dustin Schram, Jarrett Franzen, and Jason Doyle, in that order.

Next Friday, June 30th, the point racing action continues at the Davenport Speedway. Our special attraction for the night will be Powder Puff Races.

Comments are closed.