Sunday June 24, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Duffy does it again at Davenport

DAVENPORT, Ia. – One of the great things about racing is the possibility for Hollywood-type endings. While not quite that dramatic, the IMCA Mod Madness 50, Friday night at the Davenport Speedway did have its share of twists and turns. For Darin Duffy of Urbana, Iowa, the race ran the gambit.
Duffy almost missed the event, due to an accident on Interstate 80. Darin arrived just in time to start last in the final semi-feature. He had to pass local hero Ray Guss Jr. to lock in a spot in the main. Starting 22nd in a field of 24, Duffy was fourth when the caution flag flew on lap 25.
After the restart, 2015 Mod Madness champion Tyler Droste would take the lead from Jason Pershy on lap 28. Running on the high side, Duffy worked his way past Kurt Kile and Pershy, before setting his sights on Droste. Coming to the white flag, Duffy dove under Droste, leading the final two laps for the win. Droste finished a close second, with Jason Pershy holding on to third. Kurt Kile took fourth and Greg Durbin fifth.
Modified heat race wins went to Greg Durbin, Jeff Larson, Rob Toland, and Jason Pershy. Stephan Kammerer and Jordan Hicks won the semis.
In addition to the IMCA Mod Madness 50 trophy and the $2,000 top prize, Duffy also earned a guaranteed starting spot in the Iowa Governor’s Cup race on September 22nd. Duffy also becam the first repeat winner of the Mod Madness race. His previous win came in 2013

In Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model action, Rob Toland captured his third feature win of the season. Toland shot from his second row starting spot in to the lead on the first lap. Matt Ryan gave chase throughout the race, but was unable to take the lead away. Ryan would finish second, followed by Chuck Hanna, Shawn Mulvany, and Mike Cothron, in that order. Gary Webb was the late model heat winner.

Jeff Struck Jr. continued his roll in the Koehler Electric Street Stock feature. Struck won his third straight feature and fourth win of the season. Struck was able to pass early race leader Gene Ehlers on the high side and just kept going. Ehlers would hang on to finish second. Nick Hixson, Jesse Owen, and Josh Neal were third through fifth respectively.

Keith Blum would not be denied in the Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMod main. Blum started third, but was in the lead by the time the field reached the first turn. Jared Waterman and Tony Olson were in the hunt for the lead. Waterman would take the lead for a couple of laps, but “the Pitbull” Blum roared back in the bottom groove and took the win. Waterman finished second and Olson third. Kelly Meyer and Chance Huston completed the top five.

Midwest Jalopies made their final appearance of the year at Davenport Speedway. Terry Mattly again dominated the class. Mattly won both his heat and the feature. Austin Honts finished second in the feature, followed by Rodney Haack.

Next Friday night at the Davenport Speedway, the chase for the 2017 track championship heats up as we are down to our final four races of the regular season. Our special attraction for the evening will be mechanic races.

Comments are closed.