Tuesday July 17, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Kansas Thunder Series returns to Osborne

OSBORNE, KS —The Kansas Thunder Series returned to Osborne (KS) Speedway during the Osborne County Fair on Wednesday & Thursday, July 26-27. It was a big night for the Watts family as father Tim and son Tyler of Beloit both raced their way to victory lane.

In the IMCA Modified main event, Tim Watts took advantage of his pole starting position to lead all 12 laps for the win. David Murray Jr. chased Watts most of the race, and looked to have a chance to make a pass when the caution flew on lap 10 when Mike Petersilie spun. Watts led the field back to green and held on for the win. Murray settled for second, followed by Tanner Black, heat two winner ‘Smokin’ Joe Cleveland, and Jimmy Reeves. Jeremy Frenier won the other heat race.

Tyler Watts also led all 12 laps in the Northern Sport Mod main event. The lone caution in the race came on lap 6 for debris. Hometown driver Tracy Holloway closed in on Watts late in the race but had to settle for the runner-up spot. Dakota Sproul, Tanner Portenier and Jacob Olmstead rounded out the top five. Watts also won the heat race.

Norton’s Casey ‘The Weiner’ Woken led from green to checkered in the IMCA Stock Car feature. A couple of cautions kept the field close but Woken drove off for his second series win. The race was for second and Shaylon ‘Hollywood’ Holloway charged his way through the field to take second, followed closely by heat race winner Nolan Remus and Jason Davis. Kyle Pfeifer finished fifth.

In a caution filled IMCA Hobby Stock feature, Zach Olmstead of Overton, NE, passed early leader Tathan Burkhart halfway through the race and held on for a trip to the winner’s circle. Burkhart, Brian Stich, Cody Williams and Spencer Hilbrink completed the top five. Heat race winners were Stich and Burkhart.

It was also a family affair on Thursday night as hometown brothers Tracy & Shaylon ‘Hollywood’ Holloway drove to victory lane.

Tracy led all 12 laps of the IMCA Northern Sport Mod feature. Back to back caution flags on laps 8 & 9 kept the field close but Holloway drove away from the pack for the win. Tyler Watts finished second, followed by Kolton Vogel, Dan Lauer and Troy Attwood. Holloway also won the heat race.

Chad Sterling took the early lead in the IMCA Stock Car feature until Wednesday night’s winner Casey ‘The Weiner’ Woken drove past for the top spot. But Shaylon Holloway, passed both Sterling and heat race winner Woken and took the lead on lap 13 and was able to hold on the final two laps for the trip to the winner’s circle. Woken finished in the runner-up spot, followed closely by Sterling, Kyle Pfeifer and Jason Davis.

Jimmy Reeves took the early lead in the 15-lap IMCA Modified feature before Marty Clark took command. But after a lap 10 restart, ‘The Frye Man’ Tyler Frye of Belleville drove by second heat winner Clark and led the field to the checkers. Jeremy Frenier finished third behind Clark, followed by heat one winner Tanner Black and Reeves.

Oakley’s Brady Bencken made a pass late in the race to win the 12-lap IMCA Hobby Stock main event. Tathan Burkhart led the field most of the race until Bencken took the lead late for the win. Cody Williams passed Burkhart for second, with Zach Olmstead fourth and Brian Stich fifth.

The series now moves to Elmwood Park Speedway in Norton on Saturday, July 29. The series concludes at Rooks County Speedway in Stockton on Thursday & Friday, August 17-18.

Comments are closed.