Thursday June 21, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

2nd Annual Grant Junghans Memorial set for Aug. 18 at Lakeside Speedway

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -Celebrating the life of one of the most popular USMTS racers of all time, the 2nd Annual Grant Junghans Memorial will take place Friday, Aug. 18, at the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan.

The racing world lost one of its finest ambassadors in March 2016, and the Grant Junghans Memorial race is an opportunity for his fans, family and friends to remember the good times and racing memories shared in his 27 years with us.

Junghans was first diagnosed with cancer in February of 2010. Despite on-again off-again chemotherapy treatments and numerous surgeries, he never lost his sense of humor, fighting spirit or natural-born tendency to be decent to others.

He was also the 2009 USMTS Rookie of the Year. The award has since been renamed in his honor.

The one-day event will be part of this year’s Hunt for the USMTS Casey’s Cup powered by S&S Fishing & Rental and will once again pay $10,002 to the winner of the United States Modified Touring Series main event, with no less than $1,002 to each of the feature race starters.

Lucas Schott of Chatfield, Minn., topped the inaugural event last year, besting nearly 100 of the most prolific field of dirt modified drivers ever assembled.

Sponsors stepping up to make this race possible include Shop Quik Stores, ARMI Contractors, Rick Beebe Heating & Air Conditioning, Ramirez Motorsports, Rancho Milagro Racing, River’s Edge Scrap Management, Kenny’s Tile, Seeburg Muffler, Malvern Bank,, Shell Oil, Boubin Tire & Automotive/Real Racing Wheels, Town Oilfield Service, 33z Racing/VanderBuilt Race Cars, A&A Electric & Underground, MB Customs Race Cars, “Gator” & Lana Calhoun and Fast Shafts.

If you are interested in being a sponsor of this event, please call the USMTS office at (515) 832-7944. T-shirts will print on Thursday morning of this week, so hurry to be on this year’s design.

An unbelievable fireworks show presented by Kenny’s Tile will also be a part of the night.

Contingency awards will be awarded by Allstar Performance, American Racer Racing Tires, Beyea Custom Headers, BigDeal Car Care, BSB Manufacturing, Casey’s General Stores, Chix Gear Racewear, Day Motor Sports, Deatherage Opticians, Dickson Racing Shocks, E3 Spark Plugs, Edelbrock, Fast Shafts, Fuel Safe Racing Cells, GRT Race Cars, Hooker Custom Harness, Integra Shocks & Springs, Keyser Manufacturing, KSE Racing Products, Out-Pace Racing Products, QA1 Precision Products,, Real Racing Wheels, Simpson Performance Products, Summit Racing Equipment, Sweet Manufacturing, Swift Springs, Sybesma Graphics, Tire Demon, Wehrs Machine & Race Products, VP Racing Fuels and Wilwood Disc Brakes.

Payout for the 2nd Annual Grant Junghans Memorial main event: 1. $10,002, 2. $6002, 3. $4502, 4. $3502, 5. $2702, 6. $2202, 7. $1802, 8. $1602, 9. $1502, 10. $1402, 11. $1302, 12. $1252, 13. $1202, 14. $1152, 15. $1125, 16. $1102, 17. $1092, 18. $1082, 19. $1072, 20. $1062, 21. $1052, 22. $1045, 23. $1042, 24. $1035, 25. $1032, 26. $1025, 27. $1022, 28. $1015, 29. $1012, 30. $1002.

Drivers making a long-distance trek to the event are eligible for the following Long Tow Bonus: 1. $500, 2. $400, 3. $300, 4. $200, 5. $200. You must be pre-entered in order to be eligible for the Long Tow Bonus.

The early entry fee is $100 and the deadline is Thursday, Aug. 17. Entry fee is $200 on race day for all competitors.

All USMTS rules apply. Draw for heat race starting spot ends 15 minutes before hot laps. Qualifying will be done by heat race passing points and “B” Mains. RACEceivers and AMB transponders are mandatory and available for rent or purchase at USMTS trailer. See complete rules at

Out-Pace USRA B-Mods will be racing for $2,222 to win and $222 to start their “A” Main. There will be a $50 entry fee.

Pits open at 2 p.m., spectator gates open at 5, hot laps start at 7 and racing begins at 7:30. General admission seating is $20 for adults, $15 for kids ages 11-15. Children ages 10 and under get in for free. Terrace admission is $25 for adults. A limited number of suite tickets are available for $30. Pit passes are $35. Advance tickets can be purchased by calling the USMTS office at (515) 832-7944.

Coupons good for $2 off adult admission available at Casey’s General Stores locations in Basehor, Kansas City, Lenexa and Overland Park, plus Belton, Blue Springs, De Soto, Grain Valley, Independence, Kansas City, Kearney, Lees Summit, Shawnee and Smithville in Missouri. To find the location nearest you, visit

Terry Phillips has four career USMTS victories here while Rodney Sanders and Jeremy Payne have each won three. Ryan Gustin, Nic Bidinger, Matt Dotson, Jesse Sobbing, Ricky Thornton Jr., Aaron Marrant and last year’s Grant Junghans Memorial winner, Lucas Schott, each have one win here.

For fans unable to be there in person, will carry every lap of every class live.

The Lakeside Speedway is located 1.0 mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City). For more information, call (913) 299-9206 or visit

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter at and Instagram at or subscribe to our YouTube channel at Keep up to speed with everything USMTS by joining our email list at

Comments are closed.