Tuesday July 17, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

110 Cars Check in to I-35 Speedway Pits on Pro-Ag Services Night at The Races!!!

Opening ceremonies would see I-35 Speedway honor the late Mike Knight with the releasing of balloons in his memory along with Mike and Kyle Johnson receiving an award for patriotism as we honored our veterans. Intermission would see Fans and Drivers pay respects to the late Bob Libbey one of the great voices of our sport. We recognized our current Hall of Famers and gave a sneak peek into the 2017 inductees we will honor at our banquet on November fourth.

E-Modified would start our night of great racing action as heat winner Manlee Lamar #4M would take the lead early holding off a very fast #80 of Justin Asher. As the race progressed, Chris Mercer #13 and other heat winner Randy Smith Jr #75X would come from the back of the field of competitors to challenge. Smith would thread the needle to take the front only to see Mercer charge by taking the front. Mercer would continue to lead claiming the win and his fourth victory of 2017 at I-35 Speedway. Smith would go on to place second with Lamar fading late to place third. Asher would finish the night fourth with Leroy Morrison #50 rounding out the night’s top five positions.

Grand National would see Donnie Brown #26 add to his point lead in the class as he would come from a tenth starting position to pick up the feature win. Brown and Travis Walker would battle several laps side by side until Walker would jump the birm in turn number three allowing Brown to take the lead and the win. John Hanson #54 would race his way to a solid and respectable second place showing with Billie Hoover #97 third. Heat winner John Brown would end the night fourth with Mike Carson #69JR ending the feature fifth place. Other heat winner was Chad Fuller #0R.

Midwest Lightning Sprint would again see the familiar face of Tom Brown #B20 win both heat and feature on this night of competition. Brown would get out front and never look back on his way to the win. Jason Billups #2 would make a late race charge to place second ahead of third place finisher Mark Billings #51 who would fade late. Bobby Layne #9s driving for Chris Schofield would end the night fourth with Ken Billings #85 a solid fifth place run.

Pure Stock witnessed exciting racing as there were multiple grooves on the fast smooth racing surface. Point leader Cletus Murray #21M would use the low line the entire feature and find some traction working his way out front and on to victory. Murray would celebrate in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle with family and friends as he would notch his sixth win of 2017 at I-35 Speedway adding to his point lead. C J Turner #91 continues to impress as he would work his way to second on the night with heat race winner Beau Wells #555, who was in win contention all race, a very close third. Cody King #29 would end the feature fourth with Justin Adkins #15 rounding out the night’s top five. Other heat winner was Ron Hill #72 who would slip early in the race taking him from win contention.

Sport Compact would see Alvin Cooney 69C win heat and feature as he would cruise to his second win at I-35 Speedway this 2017 racing season. Second would belong to Chris Brockert #82 with third place other heat winner Dakota Girard #3w. Fourth was Aaron Brookshire #7X with fifth going to Drew Tully #33. Sport Compact continues to grow and the racing gets more competitive each week of competition.

High flying Non-Wing Sprints would take to the track next and see a caution filled feature. When the smoke settled Wyatt Burks #11W would claim his second victory of 2017 at I-35 Speedway winning both heat and feature. J D Black #7JR would be in fine form handling the fast smooth track placing second with other heat winner Corey Nelson #34 a very close third place showing. Fourth place would go to the always fast #65 of Chris Parkinson with fifth place to Terry Richards #18. Other heat winner was Warren Johnson #4 who would develop problems early taking him from the race.

USRA B-Modifieds, as always, would not disappoint the fans as they would go side by side and wheel to wheel throughout the field of competitors. Heat winner Randy Ainsworth #57 would take the front early until Jake Richards #17J would use the high line to move past and out front. Richards would hold all the other racers at bay and pick up his first win of 2017 at I-35 Speedway dedicating the win to the late Bob Libbey. Austin Kaplan #1 would move to the front placing second with the ever present and front running Ed Noll #15 third. Kameron Grindstaff #14 would place a solid and consistent fourth on the night with point leader Bud Wilson #22W ending the feature fifth. Other heat race winner was Jace Gay #29 who would be up front until mechanical issue would take him form the race.

Like a broken record that keeps playing, Dean Wray #77 would win heat race and feature in USRA Stock Car bringing his victory total to 16 on the year. Louis Lynch #71, on his first visit to I-35 Speedway, would place second with Bud Wilson #65X a rare appearance in a USRA Stock Car third. Fourth place would go to Calvin Teel #55T with Jay Barnes #19 rounding out the night’s top five.

With a loaded field of competitors USRA Modifieds would storm to the track for exciting racing action. Heat winner Dennis Elliott #29 would jump to the front of the field and take the point appearing to be the car to beat. As Elliott would lead Zach Sanders #69 would work his way through traffic to close in and challenge for the top spot. Sanders would show poise and patience as he would wait for Elliott to slip in turn four and move past on the inside taking the lead and the win on this night of competition picking up his first victory of 2017 at I-35 Speedway. As Sanders celebrated in McCarthy Auto Group Winners Circle the field knew they had been “ZachAttacked” on this evening. Elliott would place second with other heat winner and contender Clay Hale #22H placing a close third. Fourth would see the #75 of Gunner Martin with Sam Florence #42 finishing the night of racing action a very solid fifth. Other heat winner was Billie Hoover #99J.

I-35 Speedway would like to thank you the fans and drivers for another night of stellar racing and family fun and hope to see everyone next Saturday Night for Lake Road Warehouse Night at the Races.

Comments are closed.