Monday October 15, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Timms wins opening-night MLRA Fall Nationals feature as first 16 positions set for Street Stocks Big Buck 50

WHEATLAND, Missouri – Randy Timms clearly is falling in love with Lucas Oil Speedway.

Taking command early in Friday’s opener of the Lucas Oil MLRA Fall Nationals weekend doubleheader, Timms drove to the $3,000 feature victory. Modified ace Cade Dillard, making only his third career Late Model start, finished second with Brent Larson third.

“I’ve always liked this place, but I honestly don’t know,” Timms said of his affinity for Lucas Oil Speedway after his second straight win there. “We’ve just been getting better with our little race car here. It all worked out.”

Timms’ only other career MLRA victory came on Sept. 2 at the Larry Phillips Memorial. The Wheatland, Okla., driver only led the final lap of that one, with this triumph much more dominant as he led the final 39 of the 40-lap event.

The stakes are higher in Saturday’s finale, with $5,000 going to the winner as the MLRA season comes to a close. Veteran Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., has all but clinched his fourth series championship.

Meanwhile, the co-headliner on Saturday will be the $5,000-to-win Street Stock Big Buck 50. The first 16 starting positions for that feature were determined on Friday night as 96 Street Stocks checked into the pits along with 31 Late Models. Peyton Taylor of Ash Flat, Ark., earned the pole position.

In Friday’s late model feature, Larson beat fellow front-row starter Timms to the lead after the green flew. But Timms was able to take over the lead on the next circuit and set sail to a sizable lead when the race’s second caution came out on lap nine as Jesse Stovall, while running third, hit the wall in turn four.

That left Dillard, making only his third career Late Model start, in third with Simpson fourth and Payton Looney fifth.

The final 31 laps clicked off caution free. Dillard, of Robeline, La., closed in past the midpoint as Timms encountered lapped traffic. But Timms, in a Black Diamond chassis, was able to regain command and prevailed by about eight car lengths.

“I felt like I was conserving (tires) pretty good,” Timms said. “I could tell Cade was kind of coming in to me, but I knew it was going to tough to pass. I just stayed patient and tried to keep a gap.”

Dillard, the USMTS Modified Central and Southern Region champion in 2017, impressed in an MB Custom Late Model. The 26-year-old said it’s been a dream, since childhood, to drive a Late Model at a high level.

“We got up to second there and I started running him down and making up a lot of ground and I burned the brakes off it,” Dillard said. “I was riding them way too hard. The last seven or eight laps they were to the floor.

“We had a really good hot rod. Congrats to (Timms). He had a really good car.”

Larson wound up third with Simpson fourth and Looney in fifth.

Series points leader Terry Phillips wound up sixth, but it was a good night for the veteran who has all but wrapped up a fourth MLRA championship. Phillips began the night 42 points in front of Rodney Sanders, who finished the feature in 10th, and increased his lead to 54.

Big Buck 50: Peyton Taylor and Derek Brown finished first and second in the dash involving the eight heat-race winners, earning front-row starting positions for Saturday night’s Street Stock Big Buck 50 main event.

Other heat race winners nailing down top-eight starting spots in the Big Buck 50 were Jeremy Russell, Brian Worley, James Flood, Brian Parker, Peyton Taylor, Derek Brown, Robby Arnold and Tim Brown.

Taylor of Ash Flat, Ark., had fast qualifying time, 18.156 seconds in Group B, earning a $500 “Fast Time Award” bonus from Tony Jackson Racing. Dean Wille of Warrensburg, Mo., set fast time in Group A, at 18.525.

The Big Buck 50 winner also will earn a free entry, valued at $3,000, into next month’s Whitetail Trophy Hunt. Asked if he is a deer hunter, Taylor smiled and said, “I will be.”

Robby Arnold and Tim Brown, the defending Big Buck 50 champ, will start on row two of the main event. Brian Parker and Jeremy Russell start on row three with Brian Worley and James Flood on row four.

Complete Lucas Oil Speedway event information, archived stories, ticket info and schedules can be found by visiting

Lucas Oil Speedway is located at Highways 83 and 54 in Wheatland, Missouri. A campground with shower and bathroom facilities is also available. With its entrance located just outside the pit gate this sprawling scenic camping facility will continue to enhance the racing experience at the Diamond of Dirt Tracks.

Click for more information and detailed directions to the speedway or call the Track Hotline at (417) 282-5984.

In addition, fans can get social with Lucas Oil Speedway by following @LucasSpeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at and on

About Lucas Oil Speedway
Lucas Oil Speedway is considered by fans, drivers and industry insiders to be one of the top five race tracks in the nation. Located in Wheatland, Missouri, approximately an hour from Springfield, Missouri, and just a quick hour and a half from the Kansas City metro area, dubbed the “Diamond of Dirt Tracks,” Lucas Oil Speedway certainly lives up to the title.

Twenty-One VIP Luxury Suites, HD Jumbo-Tron Screen, Stadium Style Musco Sports Lighting, a Bose Sound System, Go-Kart Slick Track, The Diamond Bar, Track Treasures Gift Shop, the best track food in the country and paved pits are a few of the spectacular amenities setting the Diamond of Dirt apart. 2017 marks the 7th season for the Liquid Quarter Mile Drag Racing Lake, Lake Lucas. Two nationally televised Drag Boat Races featuring the Lucas Oil Drag Boat Racing Series will be held in 2017. New for 2017 will be an all new purpose build Off Road Racing facility featuring the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series as well as a host of other regional events.

Lucas Oil Speedway hosts some of the largest and most popular events in the Midwest! National and regional touring series appear frequently for Special Events on the Diamond of Dirt Tracks. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, POWRi Midget National Series, Lucas Oil Pro-Pulling League, United States Modified Touring Series, ASCS Sprint Cars and the Lucas Oil MLRA.

In addition to the incredible Special Events, the Lucas Oil Speedway Big Adventure RV Weekly Racing Series features the Warsaw Auto Marine & RV ULMA Late Models, Pitts Homes USRA Modifieds, Big O Tires Street Stocks and the Ozark Golf Cars USRA B-Mods, racing weekly.

Comments are closed.