Saturday November 17, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Ryan Robbins wins Super Late Model race on Championship Night at Oxford Plains Speedway

Gabe Brown, 15, is youngest champion of top class in racetrack’s long history

Oxford, Maine — Ryan Robbins of Dixfield drove to his second Super Late Model victory of the season, while Gabe Brown of Center Conway, New Hampshire earned his first stock car racing championship atop the Budweiser Championship Series racing card at Oxford Plains Speedway Saturday night.

Robbins, a former PASS Modified track and series champion, became the only two-time winner in points-counting races in the top class of competition at the historic Route 26 oval track this season.

Brown, 15, made history with his title, becoming the youngest-ever premiere division champion in the almost six decades of motorized competition at OPS. Brown hopes to secure his ‘highway’ driver’s license after turning 16 later this week

Austin Teras of Gray, who won a Super Late Model race earlier this season at age 15, was the runner-up in the points finale. Tracy Gordon of Strong, a PASS Open race winner and BCS winner earlier in the season, claimed third-place hardware following the 50-lap race.

TJ Brackett of Buckfield passed a lot of cars as he tried to unseat Brown from the top of the standings, but the two-time track champion in the top class had to settle for runner-up honors in the championship battle for the second straight season. Livermore’s Scott McDaniel, another first-time winner in the top class earlier this year, rounded out the top five.

Brown crossed the finish line in sixth position, bouncing back from a mid-race altercation. Ryan Deane of Winterport, Calvin Rose, Jr. of Turner, Ivan Kaffel of Raymond and Anson’s Scott Moore rounded out the top ten. Shawn Martin of Turner led much of the race before getting shuffled out of the lead pack. He finished 11th.

Buckfield’s Kyle Treadwell outran all foes in the 30-lap Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock class, picking up his first win in the division after joining the class late in the year. Treadwell led all the way, extending his lead throughout the 30-lapper while turning in the quickest Street Stock laps of the night by a wide margin.

Nick Stanley of Oxford had his best Street Stock finish, earning runner-up honors ahead of Norway’s Jordan Russell. Last year’s champion, Billy Childs, Jr. of Leeds, was the fourth-place finisher. Matt Dufault of Turner earned a fifth-place finish, and nailed down the 2018 Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock division championship by a narrow margin over Livermore native and Gray resident Tyler King.

In a unique twist, feature winner Treadwell, who is the track announcer for Oxford Acceleration Series action on Wednesday nights during the summer, interviewed champion Dufault in victory lane following their event

Kyle Hewins of Leeds prevailed in an unusually-clean 20-lap main event for the Budweiser Championship Series Bandits division, cruising to yet another impressive victory. Arthur ‘Junior’ Goldrup of Oakland, an occasional Oxford Plains Speedway visitor since his former home track closed, earned second-place honors. Mike McKinney of Berlin, New Hampshire worked race traffic nicely to earn a third-place finish. Cody White of South Paris and Auburn’s Jeff Libby rounded out the top five. Dustin Salley of Poland finished tenth in the race, but earned enough points to claim the 2018 track title in the four-cylinder class.

Kyle Kilgore of South Paris wrapped up his Championship season in style, winning the 20-lap Figure 8 race for the eighth time this year. Five-time 2018 winner Dale Lawrence of Lisbon completed the best season of his 30-year career with a second-place finish, and second in championship points. Poland’s Larry Lizotte, Greg Durgin of South Paris and Lisbon’s Robert Morey filled out the top five.

Auburn’s Thomas Brackett put an exclamation point on his successful first year of stock car racing competition, winning the 15-lap Rookie division race and wrapping up the first-ever championship for the new class for young racers. It was the 13th win of the year for Brackett. Brady Childs of Leeds and Owen Stuart from Naples wre second and third, respectively, ahead of points runner-up Brady Heath of Waterford.

Wade Gelinas of Limington won his second consecutive 20-lap main event in the Outlaw class. Ajay Cates of Lyman moved up to challenge Gelinas, but had to settle for a second-place race trophy to go along with his 2018 track title in the Outlaw class. Rick Thompson of Naples earned a third-place finish, ahead of Poland’s Maggie Ferland and championship runner-up Calab Emerson-Mains of Richmond.

Conrad Childs of Auburn pulled off a last-lap move that earned the top step on the podium following the 20-lap Rebel division feature race. Lovell’s Josh Straiton crossed the finish line in second position, just ahead of Waterford’s Jamie Heath, who wrapped up the Championship in the Rebels class. Heath had to walk to victory lane after his car, which had been leading the race as the final lap began, ended up against the frontstretch wall as the checkered flag waved. Oxford’s Doug Degroat and Ralph Green of Auburn closed out the top-five rundown.

Brandon Varney of Mechanic Falls prevailed in one of the tighter Oxford Acceleration Series championship battles, winning the 20-lap Cruiser main event to remain atop the season-long rankings. Luke DeCoster of Greene kept the race close, finishing in second position. The champ’s car owner and father, Kevin Varney of Mechanic Falls, earned third-place hardware. Will Dunphy of New Gloucester and Oxford’s William Barker filled out the top five.

Oxford’s own Ryan Farrar completed a season-long sweep of Truck division main event racing action with yet another 20-lap score putting the exclamation point on his second straight championship season. It was the fourth Truck title for Farrrar. Kolby Morrell of Sebago made a late charge into second position, with third-place hardware earned by Chuck Estes of New Gloucester. After battling for the race lead, a late incident dropped Arundel’s Jared Kimball to fourth in the finishing order, ahead of Norway’s Randy Green.

Kyle Hewins of Leeds was triumphant in the 15-lap four-cylinder Figure 8 race. Brandon Varney of Mechanic Falls was the best of the rest, in front of Travis ‘The Tornado’ Verrill, from South Paris. Dustin Salley of Mechanic Falls and Buckfield’s Chad Wills completed the top five rundown. Kevin Varney of Mechanic Falls claimed the track championship in the first-year racing class.

Maggie Ferland of Poland won for the second time in two attempts this year in Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Ladies division competition. Lisbon’s Breanna Spaulding earned runner-up honors and wrapped up the 2018 Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Ladies Championship. Spaulding dedicated her championship to the late Rachel Dubois, a former competitor in the division who passed away in 2016 following a lifelong battle with Cystic Fibrosis. Kathryn Childs of Auburn, Chloe Kiley of South Paris and Greene’s Susan Veinott rounded out the top five.

Following a few weekends off a doubleheader weekend of automotive competition closes out the Oxford Plains Speedway season on October 13-14. On Saturday, October 13 at 2:00 p.m. the Pro All Stars Series Super Late Models make their final Northern New England appearance, topping a racing card including championship-deciding races for the PASS Mods and Bandits Triple Crown Series. On Sunday, October 14 at 1:30 p.m. the Speedway hosts the annual Armageddon of Destruction, with the regular Motor Mayhem events plus all six Oxford Acceleration Series divisions.

Comments are closed.