Sunday November 18, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Hord, Greaves and Taylor Grab WSORR Championships at Lucas Oil Speedway

Some familiar names were at the top of the list in the PRO category as Chad Hord of Felch, Mich., took the PRO Light title in his Boss Snowplow Kumho Nissan Frontier; Johnny Greaves of Abrams, Wisc., drove his Monster Forest County Potawatomi BFG Toyota to the PRO 4×4 championship; and Scott Taylor of Belvidere, Ill., grabbed the PRO 2WD crown in the Skyjacker BFG Ford.

The race weekend, sponsored by Nissan and billed as the “Nissan Showdown in
the Show-Me State”, brought WSORR Tour 2007 to the new state-of-the-art
Lucas Oil Speedway for a first ever off-road race event and local fans were
awed by the non-stop action under sunny late summer Missouri skies.

Points championships were determined in both thrilling and heartbreaking
fashion throughout the weekend, particularly in the PRO Light Pickup battle
where Jeff Kincaid of Argonne, Wisc., had made a late season surge to take
the points lead away from his rival Hord. Kincaid drove his Potawatomi BFG
Toyota to the Round 12 win on Saturday followed by Hord and Art Schmitt in a
Goodyear Nissan. Kincaid needed to finish only sixth or better to clinch
the title in Sunday’s final round. Hord grabbed the hole shot on the tight
and technical Wheatland track and Kincaid settled into the third position
until he spun his truck and then received terminal damage to his Toyota
Tacoma when he was struck hard by another racetruck following in the pack of
pursuers. The disappointed perennial PRO Light champ had to settle for 13th
and then watch as Hord drove to the win and his second class title in a row.
Randy Eller (Taylorville, Ill.) finished second in Round 13 in his Maxxis
Ford and Schmitt (Pittsburgh, Penn.) survived an end-over-end crash and
recovered in time to grab the third podium spot in the final round battle of

Johnny Greaves had an easier time of it in the PRO 4×4 contest by winning
the Round 12 race and padding his big points lead. Carl Renezeder (Newport
Beach, Calif.) in the Lucas Oil BFG Sobe Nissan Titan was second on Saturday
followed by Scott Douglas (El Cajon, Calif.) in the Amsoil Kumho Ford.
Greaves let those two duke it out on the track in Sunday’s finale to the
thrill of the crowd with Renezeder getting the win, Douglas second and Kent
Brascho in his Goodyear Chevrolet finishing third. Greaves played it safe
and finished fourth but joined the post-race celebration in winner’s circle
to claim his season long points title. Brascho (Pell City, Ala.) concluded
his successful privateer effort in WSORR Tour 2007 by finishing second in
the points.

Multiple PRO 2WD champion Scott Taylor added a first WSORR championship to
his impressive resume and took nothing for granted by driving his way to the
title with a win in Sunday’s final round. Dan Vanden Heuvel, Appleton,
Wisc., who was driving the Herculiner Toyo Ford of an injured Ross Hoek,
finished second on Sunday and “Hot Rod” Rhonda Konitzer, (Oconto Falls,
Wisc.), in her MYM Goodyear Chevrolet made her second podium finish of the
season by claiming third. Vanden Heuvel put Hoek’s truck in the winner’s
circle the day before in Round 12 followed by Brian Hinman (Billings, Mont.)
in the Redline Goodyear Chevrolet and Keith Steele, who was campaigning his
Monster Goodyear Chevrolet SRT Division truck in the PRO contest, finished

Earlier in the day, Steele (Madison, Wisc.) had a door-to-door battle with
Super Stock Truck defending champion Dan Baudoux (Hemlock, Mich.) in the
Mole Lake Casino BFG Ford that had the Lucas Oil Speedway crowd on its feet
until the final couple of turns when Baudoux’s truck expired. Steele got
the Round 12 win but the biggest celebration was by Ben Wandahsega of Bark
River, Mich., who clinched the Super Truck championship in his Potawatomi
Toyo Chevrolet by finishing second and holding off the man chasing him in
the points — third place finisher Dave Waldvogel (Fond du Lac, Wisc.) in
the Bendix Toyo Chevrolet. In Saturday’s race, Baudoux cruised to the win
followed by Steele and Wandahsega.

The Super Buggy crown is headed north to Alderman, British Columbia, as Gary
Nierop on Goodyear Tires put himself in position to clinch the title with a
strong second place finish in Saturday’s race and then he carefully
negotiated his way around the track in Sunday’s finale to avoid the fate of
Jeff Kincaid. The strategy worked as Nierop clinched the points with a
ninth place finish in the finale. Fellow Canadian Corry Heynen on BFG Tires
was stealing some of the thunder in victory circle with back-to back wins in
the final two rounds. John Mason (Laona, Wisc.) in his Mendeola Goodyear
Honda followed Heynen and Nierop to the podium on Saturday and then followed
it up with a second place finish on Sunday. Scott Schwalbe (Rhinelander,
Wisc.) on BFGs grabbed the final podium spot in the season finale.

Scott Beauchamp of Bark River, Mich., took any possible drama out of the
Stock Truck class points race by finishing strong in his Goodyear Chevrolet
and sweeping the weekend action. Beauchamp won six of the twelve rounds of
racing in 2007 on his way to the title. Jason Bort in a Goodyear Chevrolet
finished second and Eric Ruppel in the BFG Ford finished second and third on
Saturday which is where they also finished in the points. Al Konitzer in
the Goodyear Dodge was second on Sunday followed by Craig Metz in a Toyo

The 1600 Buggy class title goes to John Fitzgerald of Omaha, Neb., who was
battling defending class champ Mark Steinhardt in a close points chase. A
DNF took Steinhardt’s BFG buggy out of contention on Saturday even though he
bounced back with a third place finish on Sunday. Fitzgerald didn’t make
the podium in Wheatland but his five wins for Goodyear on the season powered
him to the championship. The final WSORR rounds in Wheatland were swept by
Michael Seefeldt in his BFG machine. John Huven was second in Round 11 and
Terry Fitzgerald was third, both on Goodyears. On Sunday, Bob Blaney on
BFGs followed Seefeldt with Steinhardt in third.

In 1600 Light Buggy action, Jamie Kleikamp of Wilson, Mich., took the Round
11 win and the Series title for Goodyear. He was followed by Mike Vanden
Heuvel on Toyo Tires on Saturday with Wes Frehse on BFGs third. Vanden
Heuvel picked up his fourth win of the season in Round 12 followed by Bryan
Holtger on Goodyears and Todd Lemke on BFGs.

Tim Moeller swept the Formula 4×4 racing in Wheatland in his Goodyear Ford
but it was the consistency of Dave DeMaegd of Mishawaka, Ind., in a Goodyear
Jeep that crowned him as the titleholder by just one point over Bob Sayers
in a Goodyear Ford. DeMaegd finished second on Sunday with Johnny Cornish
in a Goodyear Ford third. On Saturday, Jerry Conrad followed Moeller to the
finish line in his Pit Bull Ford followed by Larry Maciosek in a Goodyear

More information about the World Series championship results is available at . The Lucas Oil Speedway web site is

Comments are closed.