Wednesday July 30, 2014
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Posts in 'Ocean Speedway' Track

Ocean, Thunderbowl Welcome West Coast, Classic Sprints

May 15th, 2014

Markus Niemela and Geoff Ensign will try to protect respective USAC Sprint Car point leads this weekend when the West Coast and Western Classic series combine for back-to-back races in California.

Ocean Speedway in Watsonville hosts Friday’s race while the Saturday venue is Thunderbowl Raceway in Tulare.

Niemela, the driver from Finland, has a 12-point lead over Jace Vander Reerd in the West Coast standings after four top-10s in four starts so far this year. His best outing produced a third at Bakersfield Speedway.

Ensign sits five points ahead of defending Western Classic king Ryan Bernal after a pair of second-place finishes at Calistoga Speedway.

Dennis Howell, ninth in the West Coast points, won at Tulare in March, while Marty Hawkins is the most recent Ocean Speedway winner, last year.

Hogge collects big IMCA Modified paycheck at Ocean

September 26th, 2013

WATSONVILLE, Calif. – Maybe it was the effort from holding off Ryan McDaniel and Jeff Taylor that had Bobby Hogge IV breathless at the end of Ocean Speedway’s Pat Pettit Memorial Shootout.

Or maybe it was the rooftop celebration that followed Hogge’s $15,003 win Saturday evening at Watsonville, in the top-paying event of the season for IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds.

The victory produced the career best payday for Hogge, who had to keep McDaniel and Taylor at bay in a green, white, checkered finish to the 50-lap main event.

“I don’t know if I took a breath after the last caution,” he said. “I didn’t know if it was going to give them an opportunity or me time to make a mistake. I just told myself I needed to race like I had the last 20 laps and I’d be OK.”

After a rough opening night, Taylor raced his way into contention after winning his “B” feature. Brad Pounds, another “B” winner, and Bryan Burnes completed the top five.

Randy McDaniel and Brian Cass enjoyed brief stints at the front of the 25-car field before Richard Papenhausen settled in for a long run in the lead.

Hogge had finished fifth in the Friday qualifier and watched the 10th starting Ryan McDaniel drive by on the way to the second spot in pursuit of Papenhausen.

“We were a fifth place car on Friday night. The track was hammer down and smooth, and everyone was fast,” Hogge said. “We watched hot laps on Saturday and made some good decisions with setup. I don’t think I could have had a better car on Saturday.”

Moving up a line, Hogge caught McDaniel for second and then Papenhausen for the front spot on lap 27.

Mechanical issues sidelined Papenhausen four laps later. The race stayed green to lap 48 and that’s when the fans at Ocean and viewing the XSAN broadcast really got their money’s worth.

“I knew Ryan was right there and I knew Taylor would be coming,” Hogge said. “I just made sure I had a good restart. The last lap I kind of slowed up and made sure I didn’t miss any of my marks. It was definitely an awesome show for the fans.”

“We’re not a highly sponsored team,” added Hogge, who drives the Joe Glade Enterprises-owned GRT Modified, “so this was definitely a big win for us.”

Seventy cars vied in the third annual event, which paid a minimum of $503 to start. Hogge had won the Five Star Grafix Clash at Santa Maria Speedway in August and was already on the ballot for the 2014 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.

“It still hasn’t set in. I’m getting butterflies – it’s still like ‘Wow,’” he admitted. “The only other time I’ve stood on the roof of my car was in 2001 when I won my qualifier and finished third at Super Nationals.”

Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature winners were Kyle Wilson on Friday and Nick Spainhoward on Saturday.

Ocean’s Pat Pettit Memorial for IMCA Modifieds pays $15,003 to win

September 17th, 2013

WATSONVILLE, Calif. – The biggest IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified payday of the season will come at Ocean Speedway’s third annual Pat Pettit Memorial Shootout this Friday and Saturday, Sept. 20-21.

The winner earns a hefty $15,003. The runner-up pockets $5,003 while third place is worth $2,003, fourth place pays $1,203 and fifth nets $1,103. A minimum of $503 will be paid to start the 22-car, 50-lap event. IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, Larry Shaw Racing Western Region, Allstar Performance State and local track points will be awarded.

Heat races and a qualifying feature will be held on Friday; ‘B’ mains, a last-chance qualifier and the main event are scheduled Saturday. Entry fee is now $225. Sound restrictions will be strictly enforced and no IMCA cone mufflers will be allowed: Recommended for use is the Flowmaster 40 Series Delta Force Alcohol Race Muffler.

Transponders and one-way radio receivers are also required. Pit pates open at 1 p.m., the grandstand opens at 4:30 p.m., hot laps are at 5 p.m. with racing to follow on Friday. The back gate opens at noon and the grandstand opens at 3:30 p.m. Saturday. Racing follows 4 p.m. hot laps.

Grandstand admission on Friday is $15 for adults, $14 for seniors and $12 for kids ages 6-12. A family pass (two adults and two kids) is $45. On Saturday, spectator admission is $17 for adults, $16 for seniors and $13 for kids. The family pass is $55. Kids ages five and under get in free both days.

Pit passes are $40 for IMCA members and $45 for non-members. Kids 42” and over will be allowed in the pit area. Camping spots are available for $25 a night. The Best Western Rose Garden Inn (831-724-3367) is giving discounts to drivers making reservations for overnight stays.

More information about the Pat Pettit Shootout is available by calling 831 662-WINN and at the website. Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods, American Stocks and Four Bangers complete the weekend card.

Ensign Grabs Stockton 99 Dirt Classic

June 28th, 2013

The AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint car series resumes July 4 at Perris (Calif.) Auto Speedway, while the USAC Western Classic Sprints are scheduled at Ocean Speedway in Watsonville, Calif. July 12.

Geoff Ensign of Sebastopol, Calif. caught leader Richard Vander Weerd on the 28th lap and led the last three circuits around the Stockton (Calif.) 99 Dirt Track to win Friday night’s USAC Western Classic Sprint feature. Driving the Brian McClish entry, Ensign was trailed to the flag by Matt Streeter, fast qualifier Richard Vander Weerd, Jace Vander Weerd and Johnathon Henry. Series point leader Ryan Bernal finished 13th.

Matt Streeter led the first 17 laps of Saturday’s race, Vander Weerd led the next 10 and Ensign paced the final three.

Bernal continues to hold down the Classic point lead, 42 points ahead of D.J. Johnson.

Spencer, Austin Williams Earn CRA/Clasic Victories

June 19th, 2012

Mike Spencer of Temecula, Calif. and Shauna Hogg of Citrus Heights, Calif. lead their respective USAC Sprint racing series standings going into early-July events. Spencer tops the AMSOIL USAC/CRA points entering a July 4 race at Perris (Calif.) Auto Speedway, while Hogg leads the USAC Classic Sprints to a July 6 date at Ocean Speedway in Watsonville, Calif.

Spencer won Friday night’s 30-lap USAC/CRA-Classic feature at Watsonville, leading the final 10 laps after passing Ryan Bernal on lap 21. Bernal finished second ahead of Matt Mitchell, fast qualifier Rip Williams and Austin Williams.

Austin returned the following night and led all but the opening lap to win the 30-lap feature at Santa Maria (Calif.) Speedway. Nic Faas led the first lap but wound up fourth at the checkered flag behind Williams, Danny Sheridan and Spencer. Shane Golobic rounded out the “top-five.”

Spencer’s victory was his 25th in USAC/CRA competition, while the Santa Maria win was Williams’ second.