Sunday November 18, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Posts in 'Clay County Fair Speedway' Track

IMCA Speedweek starts with rich Hawkeye Dirt Tour show at Clay County

August 6th, 2016

IMCA Modifieds also take top billing when Speedweek continues at Hancock County Speedway in Britt with the Thursday, Aug. 11 Night of 1,000 Stars; the Friday, Aug. 12 Night of 10,000 Stars; and the Saturday, Aug. 13 All Star special.

All six events are 2017 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifiers and will be broadcast by IMCA.TV.

Pit gates open at 2 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 6 p.m. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. with racing to follow. Spectator admission is $15 for adults and free for 12 and under. Pit passes are $25

Also running are IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks.

More information is available by calling 712 262-4740, on Facebook and at the website.

Admission to the grandstand is $12 for adults, $8 for seniors and veterans with ID, and kids 12 and under are $2 or free with the donation of a non-perishable food item for the local food bank. Pit passes are $25

IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Mach-1 Sport Compacts complete the program. More information is available by calling 712 267-3278 and at the website.

After back-to-back seasons in 2014 and 2015 when no HDT competitor posted multiple wins, the 2016 series has already seen three drivers accomplish the feat.

Joel Rust of Grundy Center, Justin Kay of Wheatland and Corey Dripps of Reinbeck have each won twice thus far.

Point leader Chris Abelson of Sioux City and Brian Irvine of Oelwein own single checkers.

One hundred and forty-nine different drivers from eight states, California and Nevada among them, have competed through the first eight Dirt Tour events.

Shryock conquers Algona, closes in on Gustin for Farm Boy BBQ Sauce Central States Region title

August 7th, 2010

ALGONA, IOWA – The USMTS Casey’s General Stores National Tour kicked off the annual Kossuth County Fair on Tuesday night as the series returned to the Algona Raceway in Algona, Iowa, for the first time since Aug. 5, 2004. Nine-time and defending USMTS National Champion Kelly Shryock won his fifth straight crown that year, and the veteran from Fertile, Iowa, added another trophy to his collection Tuesday night with his series-best 154th career win.

Shryock was dominant from the moment they rolled his familiar #3 Skyrocket Chassis off the trailer. The 45-year-old from Fertile, Iowa, won the night’s first heat race, earned the AFCO Pole Award and then paced the entire distance of the WIX Filters “A” Main to make his way back to the winner’s circle for the first time since June 5 in Springfield, Mo. The main event was stopped short of the scheduled 30-lap distance on lap 28 when rain began to fall during the race’s second caution.

Ryan Gustin had to settle for the runner-up finish, Tommy Myer was third, Corey Dripps came across the finish line in fourth and Mike Hansen rounded out the top-5 finishers. Al Hejna, Jason Krohn, Doug Hillson, Algona Raceway regular Austin Wolf and Mike Jergens finished sixth through tenth, respectively. Tuesday’s show was the next-to-last event in the Farm Boy BBQ Sauce
Central States Region presented by Arnold Motor Supply where Gustin now leads Shryock by just 14 points with the final race in the region coming up Wednesday night at the Cresco Speedway in Cresco, Iowa.

Dripps is third in the rankings and an insurmountable 121 markers behind Gustin. Hejna (-143) is third, followed by Colt Mather (-144), Myer (-163), Krohn (-183), Zack VanderBeek (-192), Nick Deal (-220) and Mark Elliott (-237).

The Cresco Speedway will welcome back the USMTS dirt merchants on Wednesday, Aug. 4, for the 6th Annual Kabrick Distributing Cresco Bowl  – the final event in the Farm Boy BBQ Sauce Central States Region presented by Arnold Motor Supply.

Shryock has been dominant at Cresco over the years. Mike Spaulding won the first USMTS race at the Mighty Howard County Fairgrounds in 2002, but since then Shryock has captured eight of the 14 checkered flags. Hejna and Krohn are both two-time winners at Cresco, while Alan Mondus and VanderBeek join Spaulding with one win apiece. Gates open at 5:00, hot laps start at 6:45 and the first green flag waves at 7:00.

On race day, fans can pick up coupons worth $2 off adult admission at Casey’s General Stores locations in Cresco, Decorah, New Hampton, Ossian, Riceville. Check out[1] for more information or to find the location nearest you.

The Cresco Speedway is a 4/10-mile semi-banked clay oval located 0.2 miles north of SR 9 on SW 7th (at the Howard County Fairgrounds). Day-of-the-race info is available by calling the track office at 563-547-3400. The Cresco Speedway is online at

The USMTS Casey’s General Stores National Tour will take to the Jackson Speedway in Jackson, Minn., on Thursday, Aug. 5, for a Yeager Machine Upper Midwest Region points race, then wrap up the Dart Great Plains Region presented by Allstar Performance on Friday, Aug. 6, at the Murray County Speedway in Slayton, Minn.

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit[3] online or call 515-832-7944. You can also follow the USMTS on Facebook, MySpace, Twitter and YouTube.