Monday October 22, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Posts in 'ALH Motor Speedway' Track

Jeff Ratzlaff Sweeps His Way To First NLSA Win

June 27th, 2012

Greg Cybulski, WINNIPEG, MB– Langdon, North Dakota native Jeff Ratzlaff completed a clean sweep of Open Wheel racing at Morden’s ALH Motor Speedway on Sunday evening. Ratzlaff won his heat race and then followed it up by capturing his first Northern Lightning Sprint Association-sanctioned feature on the Southern Manitoba dirt oval.

Dylan Sabatini continued to show that he is ready to contend for the NLSA Championship, backing up his heat win in Winnipeg with a solid performance on Sunday. Sabatini’s #29 Sprinter finished second in both the heat and the feature.

Amber Balcaen appears to be on the comeback trail in 2012, guiding her #10 Lighting Sprint to a third place finish. Chris Bouwman was awarded hard charger of the feature race.

Rounding up the top 5 were Jeff Ratzlaff, Dylan Sabatini, Amber Balcaen, Chris Bouwman and Rich Nelson.

Next racing action for the NLSA will be Monday, June 25 at Winnipeg’s Red River Co-op Speedway when the Lighting Sprints will run a scheduled race plus complete their rained out feature from June 7th.

Pallen Survives Charging Hiebert in Morden Opener.

May 14th, 2011

(Morden, MB) Darren Pallen put in a strong performance to win the first Northern Lightning Sprint Association feature of 2011 at ALH Motor Speedway on Sunday afternoon. Pallen, who finished second to Roland Bernard in 2009, served notice that he is going to once again be a serious threat for the NLSA championship this season.

Pallen’s #11 Lightning Sprint was not the only car that was showing the way on the Morden short track. Tyson Hiebert, who is considered an early favorite to contend for the Lightning Sprint track championship at ALH Motor Speedway, gave the race winner all he could handle in the closing laps before settling for a close second place finish in the feature.

Following a couple of early yellow flags, Pallen lead the Lightning Sprints into the first turn and began to distance himself from his competition.

With the #11 effectively running the bottom, Hiebert changed his line to the high side and swept his #64 Sprinter around the cushion in an attempt to close ground on the race leader. The strategy appeared to be working as Tyson Hiebert climbed his way to within striking distance.

On the final lap, Hiebert made one last attempt to get his car past the leader but to no avail as Darren Pallen would win the battle on this day.

If the first race of 2011 was any indication, the NLSA will be heating up southern Manitoba in a big way this racing season.

Rounding up the top 5 was Darren Pallen, Tyson Hiebert, Chris Bouwman, Frank Elias and Amber Balcaen.

Heat races were won by Darren Pallen and Tyson Hiebert.

The next scheduled NLSA race will be Sunday, May 19 at ALH Motor Speedway.

About the Northern Lightning Sprint Association: Created
in September of 2008, the Northern Lightning Sprint Association is a rapidly growing organization committed to the creation and maintenance of safe, fast, fun, and affordable open wheel racing. Many of the organization’s members are dedicated to helping charities such as the Children’s Hospital Foundation and Cancer Care of Manitoba. More information can be found at

ALH Motor Speedway Partners with Prairie Dirt Communications in 2011.

May 12th, 2011

Al Hildebrand, President of ALH Motor Speedway and Greg Cybulski of Prairie Dirt Communications have reached an agreement which will see the newly-minted Morden, Manitoba dirt oval track prominently displayed as a sponsor to all levels of media
offered by Prairie Dirt Communications.

ALH Motor Speedway has agreed to sponsor the Tuesday morning racing report at 9:45am on Southern Manitoba’s Sports Station, 1570 CKMW radio in Winkler.

In addition, ALH Motor Speedway will enjoy an advertising spot on the upcoming Dirt From The Stands podcast as well as a link on the Prairie Dirt blog at

“Al Hildebrand and I came to an agreement that we feel is mutually beneficial to the growth of the speedway and to Prairie Dirt Communications,” offered Cybulski, who also serves as the Director of Media Relations for the Northern Lightning Sprint Association.

Further details of the agreement were undisclosed.

ALH Motor Speedway is scheduled to begin the 2011 racing season on Sunday, May 1st, 2011. Further information on the new high-banked oval can be found at