Sunday October 21, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Posts in 'Bloomfield Speedway' Track

Sanders navigates to USMTS win at Bloomfield

April 28th, 2014

BLOOMFIELD, Iowa — Rodney Sanders made a late-race charge with nine laps to go and went on to win the 35-lap USMTS Caseys Cup powered by Swan Energy main event Friday night at the Bloomfield Speedway.

Johnny Scott paced the first 11 laps and appeared to be on his way to victory, but his engine expired in a cloud of smoke and allowed Zack VanderBeek to take control.

Making his 600th career start with United States Modified Touring Series, VanderBeek took charge and led the next 15 laps until Sanders found an opening and scooted by to take the lead.

VanderBeek stayed close, but was never able to mount a serious challenge to Sanders and had to settle for the runner-up paycheck behind the defending USMTS National Champion.

Austin Siebert passed 14 cars in the contest to finish third and earned the Mesilla Valley Transportation Hard Charger Award for his season-best effort. Nate Wasmund and Daniel Hilsabeck rounded out the top five with 19th-starting Dylan Smith, Joe Duvall, Jeff Conner and Charles Baker finishing sixth through ninth, respectively.

Stormy Scott had worked his way by Sanders and was pressuring VanderBeek for the lead when contact with a lapped car on lap 19 sent him spinning and brought out the yellow flag. He restarted at the rear of the field but had problems later in the race and finished tenth after failing to complete the final four laps.

Saturday night will find the USMTS Caseys Cup powered by Swan Energy back at the I-35 Speedway in Winston, Mo., for the first time since the controversial finish last August that saw Stormy Scott become the benefactor after a last-lap skirmish between Jason Hughes and Jeremy Payne.

Other former winners at the 3/8-mile semi-banked dirt oval include Ryan Gustin, Ron Ver Beek, Johnny Scott, Mark Noble, Scott Drake, John Van Den Berg, John Allen and Kelly Shryock who leads all drivers with three wins here.

The Iron Man Challenge featuring USRA Stock Cars ($750 to win) and USRA B-Mods ($600 to win) will round out Saturdays card with the first heat race scheduled for 7 p.m.

Adults get in the grandstands for $17, kids ages 6-12 are $6 and children 5 and under are admitted free of charge. Pit passes are $35.

Coupons good for $2 off adult admission can be found at Caseys General Stores locations in Cameron, Gallatin and Maysville. To find the location nearest you, visit

The I-35 Speedway is a located 10 miles north of Cameron on SR 6 (exit 64). For more information, call the track at 660-749-5317 or visit online.

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter at or check out our YouTube channel at