Monday October 22, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Posts in 'Winston Speedway' Track

2013 Champion David Mielke Scores 5th Anniversary Michigan Dirt Cup Modified Tour Opener At Winston Speedway

May 13th, 2015

Rothbury, Michigan: The 2015 racing season for the Allstar Performance Michigan Dirt Cup Modified Tour Presented by Lane Automotive season opener was at Winston Speedway on Friday, May 8th. The 13-race schedule within the tour’s fifth anniversary season began the chase for the 2015 Michigan Dirt Cup Modified Tour Championship and the quest for the $5,000 payday going to the 2015 Champion. The fast 3/8s (0.375) mile semi-banked dirt oval located north of Muskegon in Rothbury, Michigan would host MDC for the fifth time in series history.

In the previous five appearances there had been four different winners that have visited victory lane. In the sixth race at the track to kick off the fifth anniversary season, 2013 Michigan Dirt Cup Modified Tour Champion, David Mielke overtook Defending Tour Champion with 12 laps to go to take the lead. From there, it was all Mielke as the 23-year-old from Gladwin, Michigan in his #87 Krompetz Elevator / Kirk Cameron Forestry Products machine pulled away to his fifth career MDC Modified Tour victory to move into sole possession of second all-time in career wins on the Tour. Of the five victories, two now have come at Winston Speedway.

After the redraw from the top three finishers in the Howe Racing Enterprises Qualifier Heat Races, Andy Sprague and Mark Anderson led the star-studded 21-car field to the Green Flag to begin the Allstar Performance 35 Presented by Lane Automotive. Anderson shot up to the top of the track and his momentum up on the cushion carried him around Sprague to take the early lead with Stemler, who started right behind him in fourth, following him past Sprague to grab the second spot.

Stemler continued to work on Anderson utilizing the bottom lane and on lap 17 would slip up in front of the early race leader to take over the point. Mielke, who started seventh, had been methodically working his way towards the front and would also slip past Anderson to take second and set his sights on Stemler. With 12 laps to go, Mielke was able to carry his momentum on the top side around Stemler to take the lead and pull away for his second career MDC Modified Tour victory at Winston and fourth overall.

In the end, Stemler settled for second in his #2 Gilboe’s Lock & Safe entry as the 24-year-old from Ionia, Michigan began defense of his 2014 Title by hanging on to the runner-up spot over New Lenox, Illinois invader, Steven Brooks. The 26-year-old from the Prairie State in his #5 Camp Independence open-wheeled machine started in third and stayed in the top five for the entire 35 laps.

Aaron Morey was fourth after starting 11th in his #2K Performance Engineering machine. The 35-year-old from West Olive, Michigan would have to fight off fifth place finisher, Collin Thirlby’s #47 Thirlby Automotive entry as the 25-year-old Traverse City, Michigan driver completed the top five. Jeff Erickson Jr., would bring home the sixth position ahead of Brian Brindley as veteran Curt Spalding would score an eighth place showing. Sprague slipped back to the ninth spot in the final rundown as another veteran; John McCaul completed the top 10.

In the Howe Racing Enterprises Qualifier Heat Races, Anderson, Mielke and Brooks were the winners while in the Last Chance Race; Steve McClees bested Brian Kiester, Jason Hoogerhyde, Troy Marciniak and Kory Maurice who would also transfer into the show. Jared Guinn earned the 21st starting position as the MDC Points Provisional from the Final 2014 standings.

Race #2 of the fifth anniversary 2015 racing season for the Allstar Performance Michigan Dirt Cup Modified Tour Presented by Allstar Performance will be at the track that hosted the inaugural race back in 2011, the fast 3/8 (0.375) mile semi-banked clay oval of I-96 Speedway, located east of Grand Rapids and west of Lansing in Lake Odessa, Michigan serves as hosts on Friday, May 15th.

In five previous appearances there have been five different winners with 2014 Tour Champion Travis Stemler scoring the most recent win on September 20th, 2014 to clinch the championship. Two other former series champions, Jacob Poel (2012 & 2011) and David Mielke (2013) also have wins which came in the 2014 and 2013 seasons respectively. Aaron Morey’s victory came in 2012 while Mark Anderson won the inaugural race in 2011.

To learn more about the Allstar Performance Michigan Dirt Cup Modified Tour Presented by Lane Automotive, go to the website at: You can also follow MDC all season long on Facebook and Twitter at: and For further information, email Michigan Dirt Cup, Director of Operations Scott Menlen at Finally for more information about I-96 Speedway, the host track for the second race of the season, log onto their website at: