Monday October 22, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Posts in 'Ponderosa Speedway' Track

Lucas Oil Event at Ponderosa Speedway Canceled

August 23rd, 2017

BATAVIA, OH- The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, KY on Friday, August 25 has been canceled.

Ponderosa Speedway Promoter, Jamie Stumph informed Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series officials on Sunday that he will suspend operations at the 3/8-mile oval, effective immediately. “It has been a tough year for us financially,” commented Stumph. “I felt it was time to move on before I got to the point that I didn’t enjoy racing any longer.”

“It is unfortunate to lose an event on such short notice,” said Rick Schwallie, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Director. “However, we respect Jamie and his staff for bringing this to our attention before the situation escalated.”

The stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will travel to Lawrenceburg Speedway in Lawrenceburg, IN on Saturday, August 26 for the Whiskey City 60. The event will be a complete show of: Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains and a 60-lap, $12,000-to-win main event. To purchase tickets or find more information, visit or call the speedway office at (812) 539-4700.

Bloomquist Takes John Bradshaw Memorial at Ponderosa Speedway

August 28th, 2016

JUNCTION CITY, KY – Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series point leader Scott Bloomquist extended his lead in the championship standings by winning the 13th Annual John Bradshaw Memorial at Ponderosa Speedway on Friday Night. It was the first ever visit by the LOLMDS to the Central Kentucky bullring.

Bloomquist led all 50 laps in his Crop Production Services, Reece Monument Company, Mark Martin Automotive, Andy Durham-powered, Sweet-Bloomquist Chassis. Tim McCreadie’s Sweeteners Plus, Longhorn finished second, followed by Dennis Erb Jr. in his Vomac Truck Sales, Black Diamond Chassis. Bloomquist dominated the competition all night long, first setting fast time in his group, and then easily winning his heat race. He bolted to the lead at the start of the main event and was never seriously challenged all race long. “The car was nearly perfect. I don’t know if I could find anything wrong with,” said the 52-year-old Hall of Famer who scored his 11th series win of the season. “That’s just about as good as you could ask for right there! They put new clay on this track and it really helped it. You could race all over it tonight. You could run the bottom, the middle, and the top. I really enjoyed racing here tonight.” “It’s awesome; the crowd they had here tonight, they said it might be a record. I see they put in some new stands in turn four and those looked full. It’s looks like they are going to have to add on again.”

McCreadie wrestled second from Erb on lap 29. McCreadie then started to track down Bloomquist, but a couple of cautions in the last ten laps allowed Bloomquist a clear race track to forge ahead. “It’s always fun to run in front of a crowd like this tonight. This is only our second time ever running here. I wish turn one would have been a little smoother; we could have probably maneuvered better through there. Overall we had a good night. I didn’t want to see any yellows at the end. We went with a harder tire than him [Bloomquist].”

Erb was making only his second appearance at the track as well, and was pleased with his podium finish. “It was a good battle up front. Scott had the best car all night, but it was a good race for second for a while. There were about three of us racing hard for the spot. My car got a little loose at the end, but to come home third is great. We needed to be tighter at the end, but overall it was good point night.” Greg Johnson charged from ninth to finish fourth and Don O’Neal finished fifth. Completing the top ten were Mike Marlar, Dustin Linville, Chris Madden, Gregg Satterlee, and Jason Jameson.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 28 entrants, with a lap of 13.509 seconds. Jared Hawkins set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 13.615 seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Dennis Erb Jr., Jared Hawkins, and Jimmy Owens won their respective heat races. Darrell Lanigan won the B-Main.