Monday October 22, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Posts in 'Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway' Track

Ryan denies Deery Series challengers at Dubuque

August 21st, 2016

Ryan led all but the first of 50 laps in winning the IMCA Late Model tour feature and $2,400. The Deery checkers were his career second.

He left the top side just long enough to pass pole starter Dan Shelliam. Ryan found himself pursued by a host of challengers that at one point was running five wide close behind, but stayed in front to the checkers.

Point leader Tyler Bruening ended a couple car lengths off the pace in second to add a little more breathing room in his battle for the series championship with fifth-finishing Jeff Aikey. Luke Goedert was third and Scott Fitzpatrick ran fourth.

While Bruening ran second much of the night, he gave way near midway to last-starting Joel Callahan.

Callahan stayed close before breaking and bringing out one of the six yellows that punctuated the main event. Joe Zrostlik worked his way up from outside row 10 to finish sixth.

Ryan, whose father Terry won his first Late Model feature at Dubuque in 1991, got the best of Terry Neal in an epic feature there a couple years ago.

Winner of the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing was Chad Holladay.

Mark Schulte was the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified winner at Dubuque.

Dolan checks out for Deery win at Dubuque

July 14th, 2015

DUBUQUE, Iowa – Ryan Dolan took the feature win while Jeff Aikey and Justin Kay taught the rest of their Deery Brothers Summer Series foes a thing or two about passing Sunday night at Dubuque Speedway.

Dolan led the last 46 of 50 laps in topping the IMCA Late Model tour main event. The $3,000 vic­tory was his first this season and career second.

Aikey needed a rare provisional, started 22nd and finished second. Kay, the defending champion and current point leader, spun out of second on a lap 33 restart, went to the back of the field and raced all the way back to third.

Jon Merfeld and Joe Zrostlik were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Leader the first four times around the track was outside row one starter Ray Guss Jr. Dolan got his nose under and took the front spot away the next time around, then set sail.

Kay worked his way from 12th to second, then saw his pass for the lead negated by a caution. He’d spin and bring out the next yellow when the race re-started.

A succession of cautions came out before lap 34 could be scored. Aikey had taken the top line to the second spot, challenging the lower line-running Dolan but never able to catch up.

Kay was back to third with eight laps left but Dolan pulled away late, beating Aikey across the stripe by six car lengths.

Charlie McKenna was the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing winner.

With 11 of 18 events completed, the Deery Series is at Quad City Speedway in East Moline, Ill., on Wednesday, July 22 and at Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City on Thursday, July 23.

Both features pay $3,000 to win.

Kay takes Deery Series point lead to Dubuque

July 12th, 2015

DUBUQUE, Iowa– A close second and a decisive first-place finish in tour events this week have Justin Kay back on top of point standings for the Deery Brothers Summer Series.

He’ll try to build on that advantage when traveling IMCA Late Models visit Dubuque Speedway for a $3,000 to win, minimum $300 to start show this Sunday, July 12.

Pit gates open at 4 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 4:30 p.m. for the 11th of 18 events on the 2015 Deery schedule. Hot laps are at 6 p.m. with racing to follow.

Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars and Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods are also on the program, chasing all applicable points. Grandstand admission is $16 for adults, $14 for seniors, $10 for students ages 13-17 and free for kids 12 and under. Pit passes are $30.

Making a strong case to repeat as Deery Series champion, Kay has won four of the first 10 events, the latest of those victories coming Wednesday night at Independence Motor Speedway.

He’s also the most recent tour winner at Dubuque, with the July 13, 2014 checkers to his credit.

Andy Nezworski of Buffalo now sits second in the standings, 11 markers off the pace.

Wrapping up a very busy month for the series are Deery dates July 22 at Quad City Speedway in East Moline, Ill., and July 23 at Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City.