Sunday October 21, 2018
Sign Up
Home Page
Driver Stats
Race Results
Point Standings
Racing News
Track Schedule
Weekly Schedule
Contact SpeedNet
Speednet Tracks & Series
This Week
Select A Track

Posts in 'West Liberty Speedway' Track

Holladay wins first Deery Series feature, Bruening clinches tour crown at West Liberty

September 30th, 2016

Holladay raced from the 15th starting spot to win the 50-lap finale for the 30th annual series, leading the last 28 circuits en route to the $2,500 Ideal Ready Mix Liberty 100 payday.

Andy Eckrich, Matt Ryan, Joel Callahan and Chris Horn finished second through fifth, respectively.

Jeremiah Hurst led early from the pole before Ryan settled in for a 14-lap turn up front. Callahan took over for six circuits. Holladay made the most of the higher line once he got in front and pulled away from the pack.

Callahan also topped the $2,500 to-win 50-lapper for pay only and $1,000 to win Iron Man Challenge. He heard his name called as the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing winner as well.

Darrel DeFrance extended his perfect series attendance streak to 467 events while two-time tour champion and 31-time feature winner Ray Guss Jr. ended his Deery career with a 15th place finish.

In all, Guss collected 90-plus wins driving for Hershel and Ken Roberts.

Simpson rules West Liberty; pockets $20,000 in two days

August 12th, 2016

West Liberty, Iowa- Chris Simpson was dominant in his heat race early Tuesday night at West Liberty Raceway in West Liberty, Iowa. The same good fortune carried over to the feature, and he led the entire way in the Coors Ligh tMLRA Shootout. Simpson’s Tuesday night effort was worth $10,000.

The win is Simpson’s second in two days, fourth of the year and eighth total with the Lucas Oil MLRA.

“It’s a hell of a week, I wish every Monday and Tuesday would start out like this,” commented and excited Simpson. “I just got to thank my crew and fans that stuck behind me. The hours I’ve put on on the car in the last week, with my crew guy being gone, I think have really helped. It made me get under the car and work on it and not just rely on them.”

Tuesday was a homecoming of sorts for Simpson at West Liberty. He and his brother grew up racing at the track. Judging by the size of the Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane celebration, Simpson still has a lot of fans at West Liberty.

Terry Phillips started seventh and did his work early to get through the field. His final spot came on a restart. He closed in on Simpson on a few restarts, but ultimately came home the runner up.

“50 laps is a long race,” said Phillips. “Guys were running over each other. I was just trying to be patient. I could run real hard there and kind of keep up with Chris, but my motor started getting hot. I’d get close to him and (I would get an) air push and jump over the cushion. I finally just slowed down. I didn’t want to burn my motor up. It was a good night for us.”

Jesse Stovall certainly made his third place finish interesting. On a mid-race restart he wound up facing the wrong direction in turn two. At the back of the pack for the restart, Stovall worked through the filed, passing Denny Eckrich late to secure third.

“At the end of the night I knew I probably didn’t have enough car to outrun Simpson,” stated Stovall. “All and all it was a good night. We made it through, so we’ll pack up and head to Minnesota.” Denny Eckrich put on an awesome show of his own, wheeling from the 17th place starting spot to third, before slipping back one position to fourth. His effort was enough to earn the Casey’s General Stores Hard Charger of the night award. Eckrich was followed to the finish by his brother Dave, who completed the top five.

Wednesday the series heads north to Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minnesota for the first time. The show will pay $5,000 to win.

For all of the latest news and information fans are encouraged to visit the series website at

Fans may also “like” the Lucas Oil MLRA Facebook page by clicking or follow us on Twitter at

Kay is Deery Series winner at West Liberty

June 20th, 2016

Denny Eckrich had won the 30th annual tour opener back in April and led the first 17 circuits Tuesday night.

Lapped traffic forced him to change lines however and the two-time defending series champion Kay was quick to pounce, taking the lead on the lower groove coming out of turn two.

The only caution of the race waved on lap 20. Kay cruised to the win from that point, ahead of Scott Fitzpatrick, Eckrich, Tyler Droste and Kevin Kile.

Kay did double duty at West Liberty and broke while leading the Hawkeye Dirt Tour main event for Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds.

Winner of the Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing was Matt Ryan.